1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to hook up 2 computers to cable modem?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by HollyG, Jan 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. HollyG

    HollyG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    I am new to this so please bear with me. I have one computer and 1 cable modem. Currently my computer is hooked up through the USB port on the modem. I want to get a second computer for my household, so I checked online with my cable service to see if I can connect two computers to my modem and it says you can hook up 2 computers through a home network, but they do not provide tech support for home networking so I need to check through there. So that didn't answer my question on how do I do it, and I have no clue on how to set up a home network. I basically want another computer that can access the internet at the same time and do word processing functions. I wanted to know if I have to pay an additional service fee to my cable company and purchase another modem, or does the second computer somehow get connected to the main computer. There is an empty ethernet connection on the modem, but it says not to connect both the Ethernet and USB cable to the PC, or can you connect the second computer here? Thanks for any help on to do this.
     
  2. HollyG

    HollyG Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2004
    Messages:
    717
    My current computer:
    Intel Pentium III
    Windows 98 SE
    256 MB RAM

    The new computer, since I haven't purchased it yet, will probably have:
    Windows XP
    Intel Pentium 4
    512 MB RAM
     
  3. bosshogg151

    bosshogg151

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    553
    You can hook a wireless router between the modem and the main machine and run the 2nd machine either wirelessly, or with an ethernet cable off the router. You can get everything you need at a Circuit City or Best Buy.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    You get a broadband router, and connect it to the Ethernet connection. Then you can share the Internet connection with multiple computers.
     
  5. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,068
  6. donnieb6680

    donnieb6680

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    120
    Most cable modems have 2 outputs, a USB for computers that don't have a ethernet port, and an ethernet output. You can just run a network cable from the modem to the new machine, they should both work at the same time. And just keep the usb hooked up to your current computer. This would be the cheap way to go, possibly costless if you already have a network cord.
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Actually, this is not the way to go for a couple of reasons. The vast majority of cable ISP accounts only allocate a single public IP, and you can't use both connections simultaneously.

    The broadband router will allow you to connect multiple machines, have wireless connections if you so choose, and gives you firewall protection to boot. All this for $10-20 after rebate, what's not to like?
     
  8. donnieb6680

    donnieb6680

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    120
    I agree that isn't the way to do it, simply a way to 'rig' it if you have too.
     
  9. skinnywhiteboy

    skinnywhiteboy

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,068
    Plus the router will provide a small degree of protection because it will come defaulted with all the ports blocked. Granted, it's not a true firewall, but it's better than just being directly connected to the Internet without anything in between.
     
  10. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Well, it's a true incoming firewall, just doesn't block any outgoing traffic. :)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/323017