1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How To host a site

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by loony_taz00, Jan 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. loony_taz00

    loony_taz00 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    547
    ok, So i made a site using dreamweaver MX, Kinda sucks but hey, It wil lget better, I want to know how is the easiest way to get it on the internet? can I like host it form my own computer? do i have to use angelfire? geocities? any of those? any ideas? help please? Thanks in advance
     
  2. coachdan32

    coachdan32

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,021
    The options are unlimited. You can go with the free hosts, but most will put ads on your site. You can host it yourself, but if you are a newby, you are biting off more than you can chew most likely. If it is a meaningful site, I would check into one of the lesser expensive pay hosts - it is worth it. Use google and do some research on prices and features you would like.
     
  3. sn1p34

    sn1p34

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Yes you can host it on your computer, allthough it's not recomended since it uses up resources and bandwidth, and some Internet companys don't realy appreciate it if you host websites off there bandwidth. I'd recommened either buying hosting, or geting free hosting, Angle fire and Geocitys would be the last place I would host a site. Very slow... and lots of ads.

    Heres a list of some good free host

    http://www.xr4free.com/solutions.htm
    http://www.499angels.net/

    Here is a list of free host with no forced ads
    http://www.free-webhosts.com/no-forced-ads.php

    You can do a more indepth search on google, for free hosting with no forced ads.

    Hope this helped.
     
  4. loony_taz00

    loony_taz00 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    547
    So how do I upload all of my pages that i have made already onto some of thoguhs?
     
  5. coachdan32

    coachdan32

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,021
    Most hosts have an upload interface that you are given a link and password to once you join. Others let you use your own FTP client. It depends on who you choose.
     
  6. haswalt

    haswalt

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    414
    i run my own hosting service if you email me i can set you up a free account and i can tell you anything you need to know about using it.

    email me on:

    [email protected]
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/437033

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice