1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to import a scanned doc. to Word

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by suge, Apr 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. suge

    suge Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    I have a HP computer with WindowsME. I have a simple VistaScan scanner and an HP printer.

    I have a document that I need to get into Word so that I can make changes and additions and finally print.

    I was able to scan the document and it went to a file called C:\Windows\Temp\TMP2.TiF

    But I am unable to copy or drag it into Word. It comes up "gibberish" --- little squares and letters and numbers.

    Can you help me. I am a senior and have had to teach myself anything that I know about computers. I am stumped now and really need this skill.

    Thank you
     
  2. jbcalg

    jbcalg

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2001
    Messages:
    2,056
    the scanner output (.tif) is a graphic format, so all you have right now is a picture of the document.

    in order to get it into word so you can change it, you need to get the output into a text format, usually .txt or .rtf

    check your scanner settings or help file:
    look for save as or ocr (optical character recognition) so that the file is saved as something other than a .tif file

    also check the scanner software disk or cd for a help file or a readme file

    it looks like some models come with software like omnipage which will convert scans into document formats

    here's a scanning help page that may assist
     
  3. Anne Troy

    Anne Troy

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 1999
    Messages:
    11,731
    Hit Insert-Picture-From file and go double-click the graphic.
     
  4. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    Are you running Office XP?

    The reason I ask, is that it includes OCR software built in.

    You can go to Start -- Programs -- Microsoft Office Tools and run Microsoft Office Document Scanning.

    I have been using Office XP for about 9 months and only found this out last week.
     
  5. gbrandwood

    gbrandwood

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2000
    Messages:
    137
    All good advice.

    Also, you could do a search on www.google.com for "free OCR" and see what it comes up with.

    Regards

    G
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/74773