1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to install extra hard drive?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Mencus, Sep 1, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Mencus

    Mencus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Hi;

    I want to install an extra harddrive on my system. I can physically connect it, set jumpers, set it up in bios. But after that im not sure what to do --- do i have to partition and format it??

    If so, how do I do that step by step?

    Cheers!
     
  2. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    what windows are you using?
     
  3. Mencus

    Mencus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Sorry, Im using XP Pro.
     
  4. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    sweet that saves alot of time of go to star menu then run then type diskmgmt.msc and press enter.(take all cd's out b4 opening diskmgmt.msc). then it will your old hardrive(s) listed and hopfully the new one if u see the new one right click it and click create active partition and it should work.
     
  5. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    i mean dont click mark active partition click "format..."
     
  6. Mencus

    Mencus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    Let me explain what I have done to date.

    1. I started with my OLD HDD with XP Pro installed.
    2. I removed the OLD drive and attached the NEW drive, and installed XP Pro onto my NEW drive
    3. I physically installed both drives - NEW: jumper on master, plugged into master connector on IDE cable .... OLD: no jumper (slave), plugged into slave connector on IDE cable.
    4. Set up drives in BIOS

    Now, if i get into windows/disk management, right click on my OLD drive and click format, will everything be good? I dont want to keep any old data, i want a fresh install.
     
  7. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    Yeah it should work.
     
  8. /\/\r.Abdul

    /\/\r.Abdul

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    302
    if you are a little iffy on the matter just hit F1 while in disk managment and it will tell you what to do better than i can.
     
  9. Mencus

    Mencus Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    6
    What about partitioning? Do I HAVE to do that as well? Or not worry?
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/269202

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice