How to install Win 98 after Win 2000 installed

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

refisheraz

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
3
Win 2000 is installed twice. Tried to install Win 98 w/Bootdisk.com downloaded disk, system states, "Not enough disk space." Tried to format hard drive, can't. PC bought 2nd hand no original OS disks. Thanks.
 
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
1
My best advice is to get hold of partition magic 7, which allows you to delete the partition and create a new fat 16 partition.
First you get PM7 and install it on alternative PC that contains any Windows OS, and then you create an emergency disk (2X). Using the emergency disk made you can start and follow the wizard.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Messages
574
before you wipe out that hard drive, go to device manager and find out exactly what hardware is in it so that you can get Windows 98 drivers for everything.

when you boot up with your floppy, type <B>fdisk</B>
click "Y" to enable large disk support
select option 4 to display information......what's it say?

I'd suspect they're NTFS and to get rid of that you'll have to remove non-dos partitions, then recreate Fat 32 partitions (you don't want FAt16)
 

refisheraz

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
3
Okay, I did fdisk. Now it will not load windows system states, missing OS. I guess FAT32 is needed. So how do I recreate Fat32?thnx
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Messages
574
got a little ahead there, but all will be well

what exactly did you do in fdisk?
does it show your entire hard drive?
 

refisheraz

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 19, 2003
Messages
3
The directory for c: indicated only about 2.5 meg of free memory on a 6 gig drive. I did Fdisk opt #3, Y for large ...then (I think) non-logical something. Afterwards I tried to reboot with disk.
 
Joined
Mar 20, 2000
Messages
574
let's start over........

you have a 6 gig hard drive?

fdisk / display partition information tells you what?

forget memory...nothing to do with what we're after
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top