how to install windows on new hdd

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
Many Many Thanks to: JediMaster, Nitehawk, WetChicken, Raybro, and Styxx. Ive never had such dedicated help!
They are TRUE PROFESSIONALS!




id like to know what i need to do now that ive pieced together a computer- when i start it, the award bios setup utility comes up, and a window that says this- the system intruded, chassis opened or tempered before. please check system.
it didn't say this the first time i started, only after i put the windows cd in it.
how do i install windows on it?
i also have win 2000, and windows me, ill install either one, i just need to know how.
it works good- here's the specs on it:
maxtor hdd- 20 gb 5T020H2
asus motherboard tvus4x
pentium III cpu 933mhz
48x cdrom
(the computer parts, including the hard drive, aren't brand new. i don't think that the hdd has ever had anything on it, but it may have)
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Did you go into the BIOS before? That message usually only comes up when someone sets up the BIOS with a password.

Are your Windows CD's upgrades or full versions?

Do you have a boot up disk?
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Also, that could be coming from your motherboard too.

Either way I don't think it is hurting anything. I think it's just trying to tell you that "someone" was in there, and it doesn't know it was you ;)


By the way, thanks for pointing me in the right direction with the "desktop icon" problem ;)
 

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
oh ok, that makes sense...
my windows cds are full versions, and by boot disk, do you mean startup disk?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
Start with some 'lite' reading :)

http://fdisk.radified.com/

This will give you everything (plus more) that you need to know to Fdisk, and format your HD. With a 20gig HD I would recommend two partitions, C: = 5 gig, and D: = 15 gig. Your OS would be on C: and all your programs and data files can be on the D: partition.

Given a choice between ME and W2K, I would opt for W2K. Much more stable.

You will also need to get a boot disk(s) to start with. Look at either of these places for boot disks.

Boot Disks All OS’s
http://freepctech.com/pc/002/files010.shtml

http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm


NOTE: you must CREATE a boot disk, not just copy it to floppy. Down load the files to your HD and remember the location.
Place a clean formatted floppy in the A: drive and then double click on the boot disk file. It will execute and CREATE a boot disk for you.

IF you go with W2K, there are 4 or 5 disks that will need to be created in the same way as above.
 

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
nitehawk, thank you so much, you just provided everything i need! (i hope)
much appreciated!
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
4,699
I hope so too. :D
IF not, you know where to find us.

When you get to the tutorial, I would suggest highlighting the whole thing and then copy it into Word. Then format and clean it up in word as necessary. When I did it, my copy is a 'small' 15 pages. :D
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Let us know what happens, and if you run into any snags.

Also, if you can, when you format use the /U switch.

It will give you a better and cleaner format.
 

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
i am just not getting this right...
ive got the boot disks, i changed the boot sequence, but that same mesage keeps showing up. it lets me proceed into bios, and save any settings...
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673


OK don't panic! Eat some chocolate and take a deep breath! :D

Are you talking about this message?

"the system intruded, chassis opened or tempered before. please check system"

If so, do you know your motherboard model number/make?
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2002
Messages
5,520
Howdy Kerri Ann...

Go into the BIOS, and either under Security, or Advanced look for Chassies Intrusion, and Disable it...
 

Kerri Ann

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 18, 2003
Messages
995
ok, i will look for "chassis intrusion", but i don't remember seeing it before.
the model for the mobo is TUV4X (asus)
and yes, thats the message im talkin bout
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top