1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to know the subnet mask of other machine.

Discussion in 'Networking' started by barjeshforyou, Dec 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. barjeshforyou

    barjeshforyou Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    7
    Hi All,

    there is one machine on my LAN and I want to know its subnet mask. When I try traceroute command, it shows there is one more machine (Gateway) in between.Does it mean the first machine is on some different network?

    Thanx in advance,
    Barjesh.
     
  2. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
  3. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    What do you need to do special to get that program to work.

    When I run it with the remote computer's name after the command, the IP address information is not shown.
     
  4. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    Stumbled on this a couple of days ago actually, didn't do anything special. Tested it against one Win2k system and one XP system, it worked (though it displays the lease times in dd-mm-yyyy format even though my systems are set for mm-dd-yyyy), and haven't touched it since.
    Only instructions I found are this:
    The remote machine must have Remote Registry Service and WMI Service running and you'll need administer privileges on the target machines.
    Did a little more testing after seeing your post, and here's what I got:

    I have an NT 4.0 domain, and am running the program from a WinXP MCE box signed in with a Domain Admin account. The other computers on the network are signed in with the same account. The two NT servers are signed in as Administrator. Running from a Win2k box gave the same results with one exception noted below. The program won't run on NT - mscoree.dll is needed and it's not on the NT box (so much for NT compatibility).

    Tested all my systems, the 3 Win2k work, one XP box works, and one XP box fails, the NT 4.0 Servers fail, and Win 98 fails, . I suspect that Win NT Workstation will also fail, I'll have to reboot the Win98 box and see.

    Win98:
    Code:
    [B]C:\>RmtIPcfg.exe WIN98
    
    Remote Windows IP Configuration v. 1.0.2 by Morten Skrubbeltrang
    
    
    Failed to connect: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.[/B]
    Win NT:
    Code:
    [B]C:\>RmtIPcfg.exe PDC
    
    Remote Windows IP Configuration v. 1.0.2 by Morten Skrubbeltrang
    
            Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : PDC
            Primary DNS Sufix . . . . . . . . : attbi.com
            Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
            IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : Yes
            WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
            DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : attbi.com
    
    Failed to connect: Class not registered[/B]
    and the failing XP system:
    Code:
    [B]C:\>RmtIPcfg.exe WinXP2
    
    Remote Windows IP Configuration v. 1.0.2 by Morten Skrubbeltrang
    
            Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : WinXP2
            Primary DNS Sufix . . . . . . . . :
    
    Failed to connect: The RPC server is unavailable.[/B]
    Running from a Win2k system give a bit more info, the error is
    Code:
    [B]Failed to connect: The RPC server is unavailable. (Exception from HRESULT: 0x800706BA)[/B]

    The RPC Services are set the same as on the XP system that works, and Remote Registry and WMI are both running, so have to do some more digging on that one.

    Then the program turned its self into a 0 byte file -- had to re-extract it from the zip file

    I don't have firewalls enabled on any of the systems, and both XP boxes have remote desktop and assistance enabled. Only thing "special" I've done (other than running an NT Domain in my basement:rolleyes: ) is set up the remote registry service on the Win98 system so I can access it's registry remotely.

    Just found this freeware tool Remote Command GUI

    Going to give it a test and see if it works any better. Says you have to have .NET framework on the machine that is running it, and admin rights on the target system
     
  5. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Sounds pretty inconsistent at best. Lot of work just to find out the subnet mask on one computer.

    May be easier just to look at the computer.
     
  6. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    Same results with the Remote Command GUI, except the Win98 system also says RPC Server not available. It does let you run other commands though, so if it works could be useful. You're right though, if it doesn't work out of the box, easier to go to the other system and check it that way.

    Me, I just have ultra VNC on all the boxes, and can do most anything I want:)
     
  7. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Doesn't sound like a particularly reliable program.

    Again with just one computer in question, simply look at it's TCP/IP settings to determine the subnet mask. It's not like you have a ton of them all spread over an office.
     
  8. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    Well, I certainly don't, but I have no idea how far away barjeshforyou is from the PC he wants to check on. If his network is spread out so far that he can't just walk over and look at it, it's time to call the person using the PC and have them look it up. Or hit the Boss up for that company car, a fast one to save time of course;)
     
  9. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Exactly.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/660266