1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved How to make social icon open on new tab

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by 1416lac, Sep 17, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. 1416lac

    1416lac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    I would like the social icons, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, on my website to open up in a new tab. I currently have a shopify store using the Boundless theme. I have seen mention of changing the code but I can't seem to find what it is or where to put it. Any ideas?
     
  2. JiminSA

    JiminSA

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,260
    First Name:
    Jim
    Welcome to TSG!
    put target="_blank" anywhere within your <a href="...> tags
     
  3. 1416lac

    1416lac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you for the quick response. So to be clear, I put:

    target="_blank"

    in

    <a>tags

    But where exactly? I know I go to the edit code page, theme.liquid. Is that correct?

    Thank you for your patience :)
     
  4. JiminSA

    JiminSA

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,260
    First Name:
    Jim
    Sorry, but I dont know know anything about the shopify set up, so I can't locate the relevant page(s) for you. However, you should be able to identify them from your browser url when you view the site ..
     
  5. 1416lac

    1416lac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    That is ok. I am on the code editing page but my confusion is on the placement of this code. Right now the code looks like this:

    {% if settings.social_facebook_link != blank %}

    There is more but this platform will not let me post it. Would I place your code here?
     
  6. JiminSA

    JiminSA

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,260
    First Name:
    Jim
    No, but hopefully you should be able to something like:
    HTML:
    <a  href="http://facebook.com/ ...." target="_blank"> ...
    and you would slip in the taget="_blank" thus:
    HTML:
    <a  href="http://facebook.com/ ...." target="_blank"> ...
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2017
    1416lac likes this.
  7. 1416lac

    1416lac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    THANK YOU! It worked!
     
  8. JiminSA

    JiminSA

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3,260
    First Name:
    Jim
    You are welcome:)
    Maybe you would mark the thread solved??
    Oh:eek: You did!
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1196501

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice