Solved How to make social icon open on new tab

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

1416lac

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
4
I would like the social icons, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, on my website to open up in a new tab. I currently have a shopify store using the Boundless theme. I have seen mention of changing the code but I can't seem to find what it is or where to put it. Any ideas?
 

JiminSA

Jim
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
3,407
Welcome to TSG!
put target="_blank" anywhere within your <a href="...> tags
 

1416lac

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
4
Thank you for the quick response. So to be clear, I put:

target="_blank"

in

<a>tags

But where exactly? I know I go to the edit code page, theme.liquid. Is that correct?

Thank you for your patience :)
 

JiminSA

Jim
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
3,407
Sorry, but I dont know know anything about the shopify set up, so I can't locate the relevant page(s) for you. However, you should be able to identify them from your browser url when you view the site ..
 

1416lac

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
4
Sorry, but I dont know know anything about the shopify set up, so I can't locate the relevant page(s) for you. However, you should be able to identify them from your browser url when you view the site ..
That is ok. I am on the code editing page but my confusion is on the placement of this code. Right now the code looks like this:

{% if settings.social_facebook_link != blank %}

There is more but this platform will not let me post it. Would I place your code here?
 

JiminSA

Jim
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
3,407
No, but hopefully you should be able to something like:
HTML:
<a  href="http://facebook.com/ ...." target="_blank"> ...
and you would slip in the taget="_blank" thus:
HTML:
<a  href="http://facebook.com/ ...." target="_blank"> ...
 
Last edited:

1416lac

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 17, 2017
Messages
4
No, but hopefully you should be able to something like:
HTML:
<a  href="http:facebook.com/ ...." target="_blank"> ...
and you would slip in the taget="_blank" thus:
HTML:
<a  href="http:facebook.com/ ...." target="_blank"> ...
THANK YOU! It worked!
 

JiminSA

Jim
Joined
Dec 15, 2011
Messages
3,407
You are welcome:)
Maybe you would mark the thread solved??
Oh:eek: You did!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top