1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to Migrate to New Server

Discussion in 'Networking' started by ITinfant, Feb 6, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ITinfant

ITinfant Thread Starter

Hello,

I need help! Need to move my company to our new server. Moving from a Windows Server 2008 to a new Windows Server 2008. Our servers are hosted and they don't support migrating data so I'm really in a tough spot. I have never done this before and thought it was a simple copy/paste job. I need to move applications like Quickbooks, MS Office, and the backbone of our company - Multichannel Order Manager (M.O.M.) which uses SQL.

Once the new server is setup I will then need to move all the users (20), some that work remote, to the new server. I don't have an IT background so at this point even the simplest things need thorough explanation.

I started yesterday by copying and pasting to new server one file at a time from the C: Drive. This doesn't seem very efficient as it takes an hour to copy a folder thats over 50 mb. Our source server has 272 gigs of data & apps.

Is there any way to move everything from one server to the next that won't take a lifetime? Googling this is only more confusing as there is so much info out there and I'm not sure what applies to me. Any help is appreciated!

Thanks!

2. zx10guy

zx10guy Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

272 Gigs is a lot of data regardless of the type of business you operate (small or large). How did all that data get pushed up to those servers and was there a backup plan in place to protect all this data?

Without knowing more about the hosting service and the amount of bandwidth provisioned for your servers, it's hard to formulate any suggestion.