1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to put reserved memory in use?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ItzJoey, Apr 15, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ItzJoey

    ItzJoey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    So I have a great PC had it for like 6 months now but in the last 5 days it's been super slow especially when playing games like Fortnite. My PC should be able to handle it and it was able to before now but recently it's unplayable. Then I realized that 4 out of by 8Gb of RAM (memory) is Reserved? It still shows I have 8Gb of RAM but only 4Gb is being used and the rest reserved. Its never been reserved before and I think this may be the reason. I've tried many things on the internet but nothing has helped.

    Can anybody help?!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,251
    First Name:
    Frank
    We know nothing about your computer, other than it supposedly has 8 GB of RAM, so please do the following in it:

    Download and save the TSG System Information Utility (SysInfo.exe) file.
    After it's been downloaded and saved, double-click it to run it.
    Information about your computer will appear.
    Return here to your thread, then copy-and-paste the ENTIRE text here.

    -------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. ItzJoey

    ItzJoey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Ok well first I already know how to get my PC info and I don't want a virus

    I have;

    - NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3Gb GPU
    - AMD Ryzen 5 1400 Quad Core CPU
    - Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    - and an MSI B350 Tomahawk
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,251
    First Name:
    Frank
    That's a virus-free tool that's provided by these forums and which is put to use here frequently.
    The information you provided in post #3 isn't helpful enough for what I'm trying to determine.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. ItzJoey

    ItzJoey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 10 Home, 64 bit
    Processor: AMD Ryzen 5 1400 Quad-Core Processor, AMD64 Family 23 Model 1 Stepping 1
    Processor Count: 8
    RAM: 4051 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB, -1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 930 GB (282 GB Free);
    Motherboard: Micro-Star International Co., Ltd., B350 TOMAHAWK (MS-7A34)
    Antivirus: Windows Defender, Enabled and Updated
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,251
    First Name:
    Frank
    According to your log, your computer is detecting 4 GB(4096 MB) of RAM, of which 3.96 GB(4051 MB) is usable.

    Go into the Windows 10 "System" properties window.
    What does it shows in the System - Installed memory (RAM): section?

    Go into the Windows 10 "System Configuration" window and then select the "Boot" tab and then select "Advanced Options".
    Are the Number of processors: and Maximum memory: boxes both unchecked and greyed out?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2019
  7. ItzJoey

    ItzJoey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    dyrdhrh.PNG kbsg.PNG
    its says I have 8gb and yep it was already unchecked and applied
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,251
    First Name:
    Frank
    Your MSI motherboard has 4 DIMM slots and supports up to 64 GB(16 GB X 4) of DDR4 RAM.
    It has dual channel technology, so matching capacity modules should be in the appropriate DIMM slots.
    Does yours have a single 8 GB module or 2 - 4 GB modules?

    ---------------------------------------------------------------

    Capture.JPG Capture2.JPG

    Considering the nice specs of your AMD processor and NVIDIA graphic card, have you considered adding another 8 GB of RAM and running your computer with 16 GB?
    I don't know what effect it'll have on the "system reserved" amount, but it'll definitely increase the "usable" amount.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. ItzJoey

    ItzJoey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    it has 2 4gb modules
     
  10. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,251
    First Name:
    Frank
    Thanks for clarifying it has 2 - 4 GB modules.
    You didn't comment on the second part of my last reply - which is something you might consider doing.

    I'm not on Windows 10 right now, so I don't know the exact steps to get there.
    Have you checked the display advanced settings to see what it shows for "dedicated" and "shared" memory?

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2019
  11. ItzJoey

    ItzJoey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    I found where I need to be but it doesn't show anything like dedicated or shared memory
     
  12. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    79,251
    First Name:
    Frank
    I switched over to a Windows 10 computer.

    Right-click an empty space on the desktop, then click "Display Settings"
    When the display window appears, scroll down to and click "Advanced Display Settings".
    When the advanced display settings window appears, click "Display Adapter Properties For Display 1" (or something similar to that).
    When the small window appears, make sure it's on the "Adapter" tab.
    The amount of dedicated and shared memory will be listed there.

    I looked at the support site for your MSI motherboard to see which BIOS updates are available and which issues they address.
    https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/support/B350-TOMAHAWK
    The last BIOS update(7A34v1M) was released on 01-30-2019 and fixes compatibility issues with memory modules.
    If you have an older BIOS version, you might consider updating it.

    At this point, I don't know what else to advise you.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  13. ItzJoey

    ItzJoey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    sfhg.PNG Ok how do I install the updated drivers I downloaded the zip i can open it but I don't know what to do with it
     
  14. snuffleufflegus

    snuffleufflegus

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2017
    Messages:
    340
    Try switching your ram around if you have not already tried,then reboot.Has worked for some with this same issue
     
  15. ItzJoey

    ItzJoey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2019
    Messages:
    10
    Tried that
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1225822

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice