1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to remove an in-situ W7 and reinstall a CD W7?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by datt, Nov 6, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. datt

    datt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Bear with me, i've posted and searched in that many forums that i'm repeating myself. Anyhow, rather than mess about any longer i've decided to remove the W7 that this new computer came with, and install a fresh W7 from the CD.
    Is there anyone willing to walk me thro a watch my lips uninstall and installation of an authorised W7 CD?
     
  2. Lance1

    Lance1

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,618
    What is the make and model of your system? Are you looking to upgrade Windows 7? If this is a name brand PC, and your having issues with Windows 7, have you looked into the system recovery option of the PC?
     
  3. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,754
    First Name:
    SUE
    Windows 7 comes on a dvd not a cd.When you say new do you mean brand new never owned or just new to you?As to authorized are you suspecting that whats in there now isnt authorized?If its a brand new computer the copy of windows 7 should be just fine.However if you bought it used from someone or somewhere then you never know.According to your specs it says windows 7 home premium which is what most brand new computers come with.They rarely come with windows 7 professional preinstalled.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,945
    First Name:
    Frank
    What's the brand name, model name, and model number of that computer?

    Did it come with Windows 7 pre-installed?

    Do you have an original Windows 7 DVD and its 25-character serial number?

    --------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. datt

    datt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2011
    Messages:
    37
    Sorry for the delay in replying. I took the computer to a computer fixit guy and so far everything is working fine without me attempting to re-install a W7 DVD. Thank goodness. Thank you all for your time and expertise.
     
  6. SUEOHIO

    SUEOHIO

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    3,754
    First Name:
    SUE
    Im glad you got it fixed. You can mark it as solved and you are welcome.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - remove situ reinstall
  1. snuffleufflegus
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    370
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1025691

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice