1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to Repair I/O Magic 320GB External Harddrive Ticking Sound Problem?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by SoulRaiderX, Jan 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SoulRaiderX

SoulRaiderX Thread Starter

So I got an external harddrive that's 320GB. My dog knocked it over and now it keeps making a ticking sound. The warranty is void so I might have to manually repair it.

This is the harddrive:
    http://www.iomagic.com/Products/sho...ProdID=I320HD35

It turns on fine, but it keeps making a strange ticking sound. It isn't getting detected by the PC. I fear a component may have fallen out of place.

Can someone walk me through how to manually repair this problem? Also, some precautions I should take? I've never done this before.

2. Triple6

Triple6 Moderator

First Name:
    Rob
    You can't repair it without replacing the hard drive thats inside the enclosure. It sounds like the drive is physically damage and its arm that you hear clicking as its trying to access the drive. You could try opening up the enclosure and checking for a loose connection but I think its a faint hope.

you can get a 320GB WD IDE hard drive for $90: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822144392

3. SoulRaiderX

SoulRaiderX Thread Starter

That's what I actually meant. Opening the case and fixing the problem manually. Can someone walk me through how to do it.

4. awoolf

awoolf

"Ticking" sounds from hard drives are bad, bad, bad.