1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to replace a DC jack?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dmmd01, Oct 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dmmd01

dmmd01 Thread Starter

Hello,
    I've inherited a Gateway MC7321u with a bad DC jack. This was deduced by the sparks coming from the DC jack whenever it was plugged in. This is my first time attempting this type of work, but since it didn't cost me anything, I figure it is worth a shot and worth the learning experience.

I have taken apart the computer, removed the bad (and burnt) DC jack, and removed the solder... The DC jack consisted of 5 numbered/labeled points on the board. Here is a picture of what it looks like brand new:

[​IMG]

Points 2,3,4, and 5 are the flat rectangular points, which I'm guessing are just for securing the DC jack to the board. Point #1 was the big round piece protruding through the board to the opposite side. This is from where the sparks were coming. Because there really wasn't much left of the previous point #1, I'm unclear as to how this connection should be made... Is it simply a matter of soldering it closed? Should the whole hole in the board be filled with solder?

Any help would be appreciated. Thank you!

2. raybro

raybro

I'll attempt to help you, but not looking at the circuit board, I'll be making some guesses.

First, some basics...