1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to reset the IP addres of ethernet card in my sony Vaio laptop?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by arunjose, Jun 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. arunjose

    arunjose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Hi,
    I am using windows XP Sp2 .i am trying to connect to the internet through modem using ethernet cable(cat5 crossed). but it shows limited or no connectivity. it is actually showing the ip address as 169.XXX.XXX but the actual Ip address is 10.XX.XXX but the dhcp can't ping this address. i have tried everything but the Ip address stays the same. any suggestions highly appreciated..ThanX
     
  2. win2kpro

    win2kpro

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2005
    Messages:
    11,669
    Why are you using a crossover cable from the modem to the machine? From the modem to the machine you just need to use a patch cable.
     
  3. arunjose

    arunjose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    i tried patch cable first. the outcome is same. actually one of my friend suggested that crossed cat5 cable might resolve the problem. it is defenitly not the cable problem
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  5. arunjose

    arunjose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    i tried it but no joy the ip address still stays the same...
     
  6. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Do you see a connection light for the NIC on the laptop and the router/switch port when you connect the cable?

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt:

    Type the following command:

    IPCONFIG /ALL

    Right click in the command window and choose Select All, then hit Enter.
    Paste the results in a message here.

    If you are on a machine with no network connection, use a floppy, USB disk, or a CD-RW disk to transfer a text file with the information to allow pasting it here.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/585452