1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to return data using checkboxes

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by Hemp31, Feb 17, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Hemp31

Hemp31 Thread Starter

I have a forum called FrmAgent that i created in access 2007. It id pulling information from a table called "Agent". in my forum i have 5 checkboxes with names next to them. The names are also found in the table in a column called Agent Name. What i want is if the check box is checked next to that persons name it crabs the data and runs the query when a button is clicked. Example if one or more boxes are clicked it would run the data. Does this make sense? If anyone could help me that would be great. I am very new to vba and access so any help would be great. examples too. Thank you again

2. draceplace

draceplace

How important is it to pull all agents more than one at time? Is 5 agents a static number or does this change and agents fluxuate?

3. Hemp31

Hemp31 Thread Starter

It is always going to be the same five agents.

4. draceplace

draceplace

If we can limit the search to one agent at time we can do this relatively easy.
    Lets get this working then we'll do the query.

On an unbound form:
    1st step is to make an option group(name the frame Fra_AgtSearch) -The label doesn't matter.
    2. Add the 5 option buttons. Label captions are the text to use in the search.-Name the labels Label_Agent01, Label_Agent02...
    3. Add an unbound text box name= Agent_txt (we will make this not visable later)

4. Add this vba to the 'After Update' Event - event proceedure on the Option Group(Fra_AgtSearch)

Select Case Fra_AgtSearch.Value
    Case 1
    Me.Agent_txt = Me.Label_Agent01.Caption
    Case 2
    Me.Agent_txt = Me.Label_Agent02.Caption