How to run a script to automatically start defrag

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

valley_girl1919

OK, I am new at a lot of this and one of my first projects is to work on making sure all 60 workstations at work are defraged monthly. I have never wrote a script for anything, but heard I can write a script to automatically run defrag on all the work stations. I know i can set defrag to run in task scheduler but i dont want to have to go to each workstation to do this if I dont have to. We have active directory at work and there are group policies. My question is how do I write a script to run defrag automatically without the user being logged in and me having to set it up on each workstation?

valley_girl1919

OK, I am new at a lot of this and one of my first projects is to work on making sure all 60 workstations at work are defraged monthly. I have never wrote a script for anything, but heard I can write a script to automatically run defrag on all the work stations. I know i can set defrag to run in task scheduler but i dont want to have to go to each workstation to do this if I dont have to. We have active directory at work and there are group policies. My question is how do I write a script to run defrag automatically without the user being logged in and me having to set it up on each workstation?

A batch file would probably suite best;

Code:
@echo off
dfrgui
That opens Disk Defragmenter, but I'm not entirely sure if there are any arguments to start the initial de-fragmenting.

Duplicate to http://forums.techguy.org/software-development/919475-how-write-script-run-defrag.html

Triple6

Rob
Please don' post more then one thread for the same question, I've merged your two threads together here.

Status