How to set up a file sharing network

PatrickMP

Hi, I've just switched to Linux Mint Cinnamon 20.1 and I'm trying to get network my PC and Laptop via ethernet (LAN). I've spent a few hours on various forums and other sites but nothing I've tried works. Some simple advice on how to set up a shared network will be greatly appreciated as I'm a novice when it comes to Linux.

zx10guy

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
You need to set up a Samba share which will allow files on your Linux box to be shared out as a SMB/CIFS share for Windows boxes.

Like zx10guy said, you will need Samba installed on your Linux. However, before you do that, install webmin . I cannot imagine working with Linux without webmin. It makes a lot of job easier, including installing packages like Samba and others.

PatrickMP

Like zx10guy said, you will need Samba installed on your Linux. However, before you do that, install webmin . I cannot imagine working with Linux without webmin. It makes a lot of job easier, including installing packages like Samba and others.
Hi Petarian, thanks for the advice. I installed webin but when I try to open it (https://localhost:10000) it won't accept my username and password. Any ideas?
Also, I thought that SAMBA was used to link machines using LInux and Windows. Both my machines are on Linux. Do I still need to install it?

Miqw7394

Mike
@ PatrickMP :-

If what you want to do is transfer files between Linux machines, then in all honesty Samba is overkill. It automatically assumes there is a Windoze machine somewhere in the mix, and it can be an absolute PITA to set up.

Years ago, when I first started with Linux - Ubuntu 14.04 LTS "Trusty Tahr" - I too wanted to do this. Everybody recommended one of two things; either Samba, or SSH. Now, SSH (Secure SHell) is great for transferring stuff across multiple networks (like the internet), but, once again, it's complete overkill for a Local Area Network; I mean, who are you trying to protect your files from.....yourself?