1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to set up a user account for gaming

Discussion in 'Games' started by enoughcliches, Oct 16, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. enoughcliches

    enoughcliches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    I currently have a lot of essential applications running in the background while I use my notebook. I would like to create a separate user account for gaming with minimal third-party applications during startup (i.e. a clean slate) so that I that I can devote more memory and processing power to my current game. I have tried doing this, but it seems that there are certain applications that are embedded in the registry so that they run for all users. Is there a way to resolve this issue? Thanks.
     
  2. ozrom1e

    ozrom1e

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,849
    You may wish to have this thread moved to the Gamming forum here at TSG. You would be getting help from some experts there that could be more beneficial to your problem. If you would like this to be done please click the little triangle at the top right of the post area and ask a moderator to move the thread to the Gamming forum.
     
  3. enoughcliches

    enoughcliches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Well, I did consider posting there at first, but then again, my problem isn't really related to gaming. I think it's more of a general Windows user accounts question. Anyway, thanks for the suggestion and I will request it to be moved if I don't get any responses from this forum :rolleyes:
     
  4. mike5532g

    mike5532g

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,312
  5. enoughcliches

    enoughcliches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Wow, thanks for the link to SmartClose. I have yet to try it, but I think it may be just what I need :D

    About hardware profiles, I went throught those articles before but they only relate to hardware and services, right? I mean, I would still have to use a utlity such as SmartClose to selectively start/close applications that I don't want running in the background.
     
  6. mike5532g

    mike5532g

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,312
    If you decide to create another profile, you would set unneeded services to manual or disabled in the new profile. You would only need to do this once.

    However, Smartclose is easier to use than creating and configuring another profile.
     
  7. enoughcliches

    enoughcliches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    I've been playing around with SmartClose a bit and ran into some problems:

    1. It takes quite a long time to close all the running applications, even on my office workstation which only has a handful in the background.
    2. It has trouble restarting certain applications such as Kerio Personal Firewall and X1 Desktop search.
    3. AVG antivirus is successfully restarted, but SmartClose leaves a command prompt window open after initializing it.

    Are these just limitations of the program, or am I doing something wrong?
     
  8. Ferendon

    Ferendon

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    154
    It's Freeware... Those kinds of things are expected with a free piece of software. Chances are it was built and developed by gamers, and they probably didn't concern themselves too much with trimming the edges on things like that.
     
  9. enoughcliches

    enoughcliches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Yeah, I get what you mean. It's just that I really liked the idea of a utility like SmartClose and was wondering if there was anything I could do to salvage its usefulness. As it stands now, it would be less of a hassle for me to just close and restart everything manually :(
     
  10. GCDude

    GCDude

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    I have a freeware utility called GameProfile that might be of use, that i wrote a while back. It doesnt close all apps, just windows services, so might not be as useful as SmartClose. But i might be able to expand it if you have any suggestions

    http://www.niris.co.uk/products/gameprofile.html
     
  11. enoughcliches

    enoughcliches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Hi, thanks for the suggestion. Will definitely give your utility a try. However, I tend to be more concerned with background applications rather than services because I just have so many running rampant in my system tray.

    In that aspect, SmartClose was on the right track but unfortunately it's a little too rough around the edges for my liking. I think that one reason for it encountering conflicts with certain applications is that after closing them, it tries to return them to their last running state. A utility that simply restarts the applications afresh would probably be less error prone. Also, SmartClose seems to have problems with applications that run both as a service and background process such as Kerio Personal Firewall.

    Sorry if my descriptions are not very clear or inaccurate. I'm not exactly a techie :eek:
     
  12. GCDude

    GCDude

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    No that all makes sense :)

    Closing any application can be a bit tricky, killing processes can be problematic (might not be aware of dependencies), likewise restarting them can cause issues, as an exe may require cmd line parameters (maybe where smartclose is having probs?). I guess expanding my util to accept user selectable services would be possible, but there is still issues with just standard exe's.
     
  13. enoughcliches

    enoughcliches Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    12
    Actually, considering the number of serious gamers out there, I'm surprised at the lack of more robust utilities for this purpose. Perhaps, as you said, closing and restarting both processes and services is not an easy thing, so any utility that could do it reliably would quite likely not be free :rolleyes:

    Well, here's to hoping that you don't start charging for yours once you're done coding it :D
     
  14. GCDude

    GCDude

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2005
    Messages:
    394
    Well i've had a little play this evening and have released a new version of GameProfile (about time i updated it). You can now get it to shutdown any services that you wish.

    Im still thinking about how to shut down plain exe's (and restart them) so if anyone has any thoughts, let me know (msconfig startup commands, reg entries, shortcut target settings??)

    Still freeware, enoughcliches ;)
     
  15. iLLegaL89

    iLLegaL89

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    244
    nice i didnt think there would be something like this, never really looked, tried it out, pretty decent > smart close
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/510153