1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to set up my own server host

Discussion in 'Web Design & Development' started by Ayon0080, Jul 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Ayon0080

    Ayon0080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Hi I want to know how to set up my own web server. I allready have a domain name but I need to know how to make a server and connect it to my site and make it avaibe to other people.
     
  2. covert215

    covert215 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,595
    You are better off paying for hosting from a 3rd party. Most internet providers do not allow home servers.
     
  3. Ayon0080

    Ayon0080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    well i still want to try. All i want to know is what do i need to make my server available online and then connect my domain name to my server?
     
  4. covert215

    covert215 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,595
    Who is your internet provider? Chances are they won't allow you to do it unless you pay for the business plan. It eats up their bandwidth so they block port 80, which is what needs to be open to show your site to the world.
     
  5. Ayon0080

    Ayon0080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    my internet provider is insightbb.
     
  6. covert215

    covert215 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,595
    Run the tests at https://www.grc.com/x/ne.dll?bh0bkyd2. If they show port 80 to be stealthed, then you cannot run the server. If they are clear, I will tell you how to set up the server.

    (Click Proceed, Continue, Common Ports)
     
  7. Ayon0080

    Ayon0080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Says port 80 is Stealth so can you recommend any 3rd party hots, or is thir a way to unblock port 80
     
  8. covert215

    covert215 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,595
    The only way to unblock the port is to pay your ISP about $100/month for a business package. I personally use www.hostgator.com. There are plenty of good ones out there. If you want to try hostgator, select the $10/month package and enter freetrial as a coupon. The first month will be 1 cent.


    [edit] Actually, there are ways to make you computer use a port other than 80, but if your ISP finds out, they will terminate your service.
     
  9. Ayon0080

    Ayon0080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks Ill give thoes a try.
     
  10. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    You'll probably need to pay for a staic IP addy as well.
     
  11. covert215

    covert215 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,595
    I'm sure it comes with the business plan. However, I don't think the plan is worth it unless you are hosting many sites.
     
  12. Ayon0080

    Ayon0080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Yea the business play that my IP offers is $300 a mounth and it perfect for a many sites or one vary large site, so im just gona go with one of the third party sites.
     
  13. covert215

    covert215 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2006
    Messages:
    2,595
    WOW...$300/month is insane...I'd expect unlimited bandwidth and all sorts of good stuff for that price
     
  14. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    Wow I pay about 1/10 of that and get a crapload of storage, bandwidth, unlimited domains and they take care of backups! :eek:

    Oh and one click add in goodies!
     
  15. Ayon0080

    Ayon0080 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    28
    Yea with that 300 doller a mounth thing you get your moneys worth but thats WAY out of price range lol. But some one suggest host gator any one ever hear of it.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/487934

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice