How to set up my own server host

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bassetman

Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
I'd expect the (cute) tech support girl to come to me house! :D
 

covert215

Banned
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
2,595
I suggested hostgator.com. I've had nothing but good experiences. They have live chat tech support 24/7. It is very easy.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
Insight BB doesn't allow you to run a dedicated server on your connection but other than that it should be ok. You would need to install a server like this: http://www.wampserver.com/en/

And you could use dyndns to host the site without a static IP: http://dyndns.org

You would then forward your domain to the DynDNS address.
 

bassetman

Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten
Joined
Jun 7, 2001
Messages
47,973
Still if they're looking at the $300 range, seems high to me!
 

covert215

Banned
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
2,595
brendandonhu said:
Insight BB doesn't allow you to run a dedicated server on your connection but other than that it should be ok. You would need to install a server like this: http://www.wampserver.com/en/

And you could use dyndns to host the site without a static IP: http://dyndns.org

You would then forward your domain to the DynDNS address.
We've already established that port 80 is blocked and paying $300/month to unblock it is out of the question. We are trying to find a good 3rd party host.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
If you get on Google and look it up, you will see that his ISP (insight broadband) does not block port 80.
 

covert215

Banned
Joined
Apr 22, 2006
Messages
2,595
I just finished talking w/ tech support at Insight BB. Port 80 is unblocked. Webservers are still not allowed.

Me: Is port 80 blocked by this ISP?
Tech: 135, 139, 445, and 593 are the only ports blocked by Insight.
Me: So am I able to have a personal webserver?
Tech: No sir, servers are not allowed on residential accounts.
Me: But port 80 is unblocked...how is this enforced?
Tech: Port scanning. If Network Operations finds a server being run on a residential account, they will suspend the account. It has the potential to put a strain on the node, causing other customers to get slower speeds.
So it is still out of the question.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2002
Messages
14,681
If you take a look at their terms of service, the only thing that's not allowed is dedicated servers. He is still able to install a server on his own computer if he wants to try it out. Their tech support has also recommended that you can turn off your server when they notify you of the port scan then turn it back on afterwards.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2006
Messages
90
Ayon0080 said:
Yea with that 300 doller a mounth thing you get your moneys worth but thats WAY out of price range lol. But some one suggest host gator any one ever hear of it.
I pay $7.95 a month and I get 10,000 emails, 25GB storage, 75 MySQL Databases, 75 PostgreSQL databases, 300 subdomains and 8 domains. I use hostexcellence.com
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top