1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How To Short A Psu???

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by intothesky, Feb 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. intothesky

    intothesky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    so basicly i need someones help to short an ATX 20 pin psu.

    Do i leave the psu plug to the wall and then stick a pin to the green wire and then to the any of hte black wire connecting them together?what about after.. i do that. do i plug it in the motherboard afteer?

    plz help!!
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Normally a PSU will not turn on unless it has a reasonable load on the 5v and 12v rails.
     
  3. intothesky

    intothesky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    its a brand new PSU ..so it should be there
    im sorry newbie at this

    thanks
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Why do you want to 'short' the powersupply?

    What kiwiguy is saying is that you need to connect something to the power supply like a motherboard to put a load on the power supply so that it will turn on and not get damaged.
     
  5. intothesky

    intothesky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    ohh ok..but then when i do that hook hte psu to hte motherboard
    nothing happens when i turn it on..nada
    no psu fan turning on its like its dead..but it cant be cuz i just bought it and it came with the case..

    the first time i put together the pc it turned on but shut off after did that 3 times then after no more power..

    then ive been reading other topics saying about needing to short the pinns..

    thanks for replying
     
  6. norton850

    norton850

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    7,794
    Perhaps in your forum reading you either came across shoring the pins for the front case switch or the jumpers to reset CMOS. Neither seems appropriate here. Any more info you can give. Is this a new build?
     
  7. intothesky

    intothesky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    ye its not neccesarly new build the case,PSU and motherboard are new
    them cpu,ram,hd,video card are from my other comp..

    cpu ram,hd, video are all working

    so u saying i shorted the case switch or cmos? how i fix that..
    and also from the Psu it seems dead wont turn on.no fan spining or anything when i plug it in and turn on the psu swicth
     
  8. Paladin-X

    Paladin-X

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    296
    Is the motherboard power LED on? What is the make/model of motherboard?
     
  9. intothesky

    intothesky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    ok heres the thing..
    when i put it together it turned on but only a few sec..then shut down.. i did that 2 more times same thing..the third try it wont turn on..nothing no power at all..no led on or hdd led on..nothing

    for hte make its an Old but brand new
    pc chips m599lmr,cpu amd k6-2 450 mhz( i did remember to switch the pin to normal. on CMOS)
    building this for sis to use on net and music
     
  10. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    You did have a heatsink on the CPU when first turning it on I assume?
     
  11. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,633
    First Name:
    James
    another pc chips m599lmr issue... I'm beginning to think that the board is a dud...

    my 2c...

    As for the issue at hand, have you tried to boot the machine with nothing attached except for video and cpu?
     
  12. intothesky

    intothesky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    yup i turned it on with heatsink and fan conected

    i did try to boot with nothing but the cpu and video..but the problem is htat it wont turn on at all...

    mb the PSU is dead?..it was just new so i dunno
     
  13. gaftop1

    gaftop1

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2003
    Messages:
    823
    future reference stay away from pcchips and ecs motherboards. (n) bottom of the pile
     
  14. intothesky

    intothesky Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    aiite *noted*stay away ahah...
     
  15. Couriant

    Couriant Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    34,633
    First Name:
    James
    I was thinking that maybe the wires that go on the bottom pins (pwrswitch, reset sw etc) are not in the right way or on the wrong pins. I remember doing that and the machine wouldn't boot up, though there were power. I'm thinking that the POWER SW is not in the right way.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/328315

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice