1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to test a laptop hard drive?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by matrim, Dec 29, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. matrim

    matrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    How to test a laptop hard drive

    I am trying to upgrade my older laptop hard drive but my comp doesn't seem to recognize that it is there. Could this be because: 1) It is a bad drive 2) the ide connector is not compatible (shouldn't any ide connector work?) 3)the drive is not compatible with my laptop :rolleyes: 4) some other reason.

    The hard drive is a IBM Travelstar 4.78 G
    The laptop is a Micron Trek Transport II

    Is there a way to test the drive in the laptop? I'm guessing not if the laptop can't even detect it. Does that mean the comp isn't even reading it, or it could be bad? Ugh.
     
  2. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,049
    What is the capacity of the old and new drives?

    Laptops, like desktops, have a BIOS limit on the size of drive they will see.
     
  3. Alex Ethridge

    Alex Ethridge

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2000
    Messages:
    9,049
  4. matrim

    matrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    HI
    The old drive was a Hitachi 2.2 Gig and the new one is 4.68 IBM Travelstar. I don't think the comp is reading the drive at all though, since WIN 98 is unable to install and the drive doesn't boot on its own. It was mailed to me, so it may have been damaged or may just be a crappy drive.

    Also, do all ide cables connect the same? Or do you have to find one specific to your drive?
     
  5. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    When you say the computer does not see it, do you mean that it doesn even show up on POST or in the bios.

    If it is showing up in the bios, the drive may just be blank with no partition on it. You will need to run fdisk to create a partition.
     
  6. matrim

    matrim Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2004
    Messages:
    197
    Right, no post. In fact, i have to boot from the Win98 Cd, and when that is done, it tries to install on the drive, but then gives the error, There is no drive, or the drive is faulty and can not read...etc.
     
  7. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    Are you sure you hooked up the IDE cable to the drive correclty.
     
  8. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    I'd pick up a 2.5" to 3.5" IDE adapter and test the hard disk in a desktop machine to insure it's functional.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/312760

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice