How to turn off warning message in MalwareBytes Anti-Malware?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Mr Davo

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 15, 2009
Messages
350
Hi Everyone,

I am using MalwareBytes Anti-Malware version 2.0.4.1028; which features a 'Malicious Website Protection' feature which I have deliberately disabled. Each time that I restart my computer I see the message below (due to deliberately turning off the 'web protection' features) -



I have followed the instructions at the MalwareBytes website for turning off notifications (Settings > General Settings > Notifications: Diabled) as can be seen below -



Despite turning 'off' notifications I still see the warning message every time that I reboot.

If anybody knows how to turn off the warning message can you please let me know?

Kind Regards,

Davo
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,588
You cannot disable the notification for a critical component of MBAM being turned off
The disable notifications you have set refers NOT to that but for notifications that for instance perverse as it seems - that malicious website protection were it to be turned ON had blocked a website.


https://www.malwarebytes.org/support/guides/mbam/GeneralSettings.html


However that notifications is non critical
Notifications
Notifications regarding rules database updates, program updates, and scan operations occur in notification windows. These windows appear at the lower right corner of your screen, outside of the Malwarebytes Anti-Malware interface. You may enable or disable these notifications. Notifications are enabled by default. Please note that some non-critical information may not be visible if you disable notifications.




See here
https://helpdesk.malwarebytes.org/h...rebytes-Anti-Malware-blocks-a-file-or-website-


So you cannot do - what you wish to do - as with many other AV`s you cannot disable an critical component without receiving a warning message.


The main reason being is that malware may have disabled it
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
8
You must have malware that disabled MBAM.

This happens to my spouses system lots of times since she's on swagbucks all the time.

Goto https://www.malwarebytes.org/ and get the free version and install the new version.

This usually does it for me.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,588
rwood2477

I am using MalwareBytes Anti-Malware version 2.0.4.1028; which features a 'Malicious Website Protection' feature which I have deliberately disabled.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
8
I leave everything on, the occasional popup of a block Skype intrusion don't bother me.

If you want to disable it, it can be found on this screen.
 

Attachments

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,588
Mr. Davo


In case you should return to your topic
1. I have explained what I see as the reason in my post 2.


2. Please DO NOT follow the advice in post 3.
As I see the situation at this time, there is no evidence to suspect that you have an infection - Malware.


The reason for the message is - as far as we know - because you have disabled Malicious Website Protection.


3. If by chance the situation has changed since you posted and you are seeing any other messages that may lead you to suspect there is something else wrong, then we will advise when you reply.


4. IF the suggestion in post 3 was correct
You must have malware that disabled MBAM.
YOU still should NOT re install malwarebytes as that will likely delete any logs
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
Has post 3 changed?
I read it as advising to get the real version from the secure home site.

Although the earlier advice to turn warnings off rather defeats the object of having it in the first place.
 

Macboatmaster

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 14, 2010
Messages
24,588
Well at the moment it is of no real consequence as Mr Davo has not yet replied
Post 3 as I read it includes

You must have malware that disabled MBAM.
On the evidence I saw Mr Davo had disabled the component.
IMHO I cannot at the moment see any reason to suspect it is Malware

DaveBurnett
I must be missing something obvious here as I cannot see reasons to suspect - it is NOT the real version.
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2015
Messages
8
I'm only going by my own uses of the program.

Manually downloading the latest version from Malwaerbytes installed it worked for me.

As t was ponted out in post #5 malware is the cause of this problem, so you should identify the culprit and remove it.

The way I do it s to run taskmanger and identify the background processes running.
The ones that you don't if about, you can do a Google search on them and remove them if unwanted.

When things are resolved, leave the malware protection on.
 

Attachments

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
120,024
I'm only going by my own uses of the program.

Manually downloading the latest version from Malwaerbytes installed it worked for me.

As t was ponted out in post #5 malware is the cause of this problem, so you should identify the culprit and remove it.

The way I do it s to run taskmanger and identify the background processes running.
The ones that you don't if about, you can do a Google search on them and remove them if unwanted.

When things are resolved, leave the malware protection on.
Your posts are confusing as you're not following the thread along. You were the one that mentioned malware and it was in post no. 3 not no. 5. Also, it's not malware-related as the poster stated in their opening post that they disabled the Malicious Website Protection themselves intentionally and just want to stop being reminded of that (this was again brought to the forefront by Macboatmaster).

In addition, the poster already posted a screenshot of where and how he disabled it yet you reply on how to disable if it they want to with a similar screenshot. :confused:

I appreciate that you want to help but it's important to read all of the posts and reply to the question that the poster is actually asking for assistance with. :)
 

DaveBurnett

Account Closed
Joined
Nov 11, 2002
Messages
12,970
I was saying that IF he thought that the version he had had been altered then downloading it from it's own site would be the most sensible.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top