1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to uninstall/remove corrupted Windows XP Install?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by lunacat, Feb 20, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lunacat

    lunacat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Hello, I tried to install Windows XP Home on my new hard drive. When I tried to install it, it hangs at 39 minutes and gives me the error:

    I kind of left it alone for a while and since then want to install Windows XP Pro. I tried to insert the Pro cd, but it wouldn't continue installation since it prepared installation from the Home cd. I've created boot disks with fdisk and format in order to just wipe the drives. However, the computer will not open the disk. I hear that it reads it but then doesn't load anything. I've used this same kind of disk for another PC and it works fine. I know the floppy drive on this pc works because when I tried to install Raid drivers previously, it read it.

    I just want to remove the Win XP Home install so I can use my other Win XP Pro to install. Thanks!
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Instead of trying to continue the installation,boot to the XP pro
    cd and when it get to where it asks which partition to install to,
    read and follow the instructions to delete the partitions.
    The select the unallocated space to install to.
    If you have any other hard drives connected with data on them
    you want to keep,don't delete those partitions.
     
  3. lunacat

    lunacat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6

    When I put in the CD, it doesn't boot from it, it just loads Windows immediately and goes straight to the install where it left off.:(
     
  4. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Make sure the first boot device in the BIOS setup is set
    to CDROM.
    Watch the screen for "press any key to boot to CD" and
    press a key.
     
  5. lunacat

    lunacat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    That prompt doesn't show up. It loads the BIOS, then goes to the Windows load screen, then to the Setup
     
  6. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    OK,lets try to lock down the problem.
    Is the hard drive SATA or IDE?
    If IDE,how is it connected and is the jumper configured correctly?
    What problems were you having that caused you to get a new drive?
    How old is the computer?
    Sounds like a drive is not configured properly or is not being
    detected properly.
     
  7. lunacat

    lunacat Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    The HD is SATA, and it's a new custom built computer
     
  8. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Go into the BIOS setup,probably under integrated periferals
    and see if there is an option to set the sata controller to IDE.
    Is the CD/DVD also sata?
    Under advanced CMOS settings,set cdrom to first boot device.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/802584