1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

How to update data on a Userform from a file

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by VBnewbie, Apr 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VBnewbie

VBnewbie Thread Starter

HI, I am fairly new to VB and way over my head in problems. Most urgent one at the moment is with displaying current data in a Userform that I created. I use VB to open a data.xlt file (which, as a template, should have the boxes all blanked out). VB actually saves the .tplt file to a data.xls file, and the UserForm uses "controlsource" to pull the current value from data.xls. That works just fine. I created a button "Modify Saved Data" and the goal was to be able to open an existing file, rename it data.xls (I found kill, so I can close data.xls and then deletes data.xls. Then I open the desired_file.xls, do an activeworkbook.saveas data.xls). However, I can't seem to make the Userform pick up the newly changed values - data.xls is open, but the userform is picking up the values from the original (the template). I've tried Load frmBasicData, I tried application.calculate and I tried a few things that I didn't really expect would work (and they didn't). What I was looking for was something that I would have called frmBasicData.Update.

Is this enough to get help or should I post my form and my code? Thanks!

2. OBP

OBP

Vbnewbie, I have asked the Forum moderators to move this thread to the Program Development forum where all the VB programmers are.
    Please do not create a new thread on there, it is against Forum rules, they will move it for you.

3. VBnewbie

VBnewbie Thread Starter