1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HP BIOS Utility

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by rdr1556, Dec 31, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rdr1556

    rdr1556 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    I have an HP Envy dv6-7000 that someone replaced the motherboard in, or they wiped the bios clean I used several NbDmiFit versions but I still get a massage "this utility can not be executed on this platform". Does anyone know how the access the bios as everything I start up the computer it first says that the model, serial number, CT and other bios info has values of A000. Can anyone tell be what utility will work HPBQ138 works on several other HP computers I have worked on, but I can't get into this BIOS to re-program it.
     
  2. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Hi, Questions:

    Are you seeing any text on a monitor or screen when you start up and press any key like the F2 or F1 or DEL key like you do to enter BIOS? Usually, at the FIRST text you see after the hp LOGO screen comes up at bootup contains ( in the TOP LEFT corner)) the system model number and we need to know what it says..... this is the easier way to identify the exact model you have however it may not be there I am just asking to verify it is or isn't.

    When you do see something about HP ...xxx.x.x.x.x.. quickly hit the PAUSE/BREAK key which if done in time, will freeze the screen so you can grab a pen and record the part numbers.... and post that info in a reply

    IF you definitely DON'T see anything identifying the system of HP, then do this or tell me you don't want to, etc:

    1. Is there any operating system installed on that system (the replaced board HP one) now?

    2. In order to know what BIOS would work we would need the part number information off the board itself. You do not have to always pull a motherboard to identify it... often, the part number we need is on a label on the edge of the RAM module holders.....and, sometimes it is as simple as removing a cover on the underside, or taking out some screws to loosen the keyboard, and the model and part number of motherboard might be in sight..... do you have any laptop experience?

    This link shows you how to open the back cover that will allow you to see the parts numbers on the RAM holders:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2IEK4ulQEdo

    I am enclosing an attached picture of what your motherboard should resemble take a look at the close-up view.

    . You have to click on a small image to see a full size pic.... To be honest I am only trying to compare what your board says, to what I find for what the motherboard is supposed to be...... if somehow a different or incompatible board is installed, that could cause all kinds of problems....

    If the board has been flashed with a wrong BIOS ROM then you know what to do, try to re-flash with correct file and I am assuming that is the problem?
     

    Attached Files:

  3. rdr1556

    rdr1556 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    It says the following:
    The following product information programmed into the system board is missing or invalid.
    System Board 00A Product Number
    System Board 00A Product Configuration
    System Board 00A Product Serial Number
    System Board 00A Product Number
    System Board 00A System CT Number


    The computer will load windows if you press enter or just wait a couple minutes. It is just an inconvenience. I have tried to rum HPBQ183 and several other exe files for 3 or 4 NbDmiFit programs, but none of them will open the BIOS so I can enter the information under the battery and memory.


    Thanks
     
  4. rdr1556

    rdr1556 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    The CT number is PCRGC2B2E2Y15B
     
  5. rdr1556

    rdr1556 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Windows 7 is the OS
     
  6. rdr1556

    rdr1556 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    I will look for the number but it maybe hidden by the case. I had the MB out yesterday as the old one was in poor shape, and I replaced it.
     
  7. rdr1556

    rdr1556 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    I will have to disassemble the laptop again. I will get the number to you ASAP. I know it is there. I saw it yesterday but since it was asking for the CT number I only wrote that one down. I thought I could get into the BIOS using the HPBQ138.exe file as I have done before on other HP laptops but that file will not work on this one.
     
  8. rdr1556

    rdr1556 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    The model is dv6t-7000
     
  9. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    Yes, I was using dv6-7000 (without a t) but I see there is not too much difference--anyway, let me change the picture so it does not confuse others.....


    Next: What I am understanding now is a bit different than back at the beginning> you have replaced a motherboard but it does not allow access to the BIOS> is that right?

    I have done board replacements and with OEM laptops, if you are planning on keeping the OEM copy of Windows OR Reinstalling the original OEM (HP) operating system and related software.... you must use a very close model of motherboard and it has to be identified with the Part Numbers taken right off the old, original board, to more or less give you a chance at
    reinstalling the HP OEM install...or simply replacing with the same exact board and just booting up with the same hard drive and coppy of Windows...I do this all the time.

    It may be that you chose to get a slightly different board, or it happened by accident and that is what I am thinking you are asking>> how to get into the BIOS to manually enter some text ..... so the machine identifies itself as what the board actually is NOW- correct? Or, you need to reflash the BIOS >> or want to.

    How were you running the utility that allows you to change what the BIOS displays? Rufus on a USB?

    http://superuser.com/questions/688093/how-can-i-fix-the-boot-process-on-my-hp-laptop and I guess you have probably seen that one....try the posts there as there are OTHER .exe's you can use that often do work

    HPs lose their ID information sometimes when an SSD is installed or the boot drive changes..... so far I have been lucky and not run into this!
     
  10. rdr1556

    rdr1556 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    The motherboard was replaced or the serial number, CT number, product number, and model were wiped out by a previous owner. It was in this condition when I bought it. I have used Rufus on a USB drive and tried the utility HPBQ138.exe, and about a dozen others. None of them will give me access to enter the info under the battery. It may be the previous owner tried to install an SSD and that caused the problem. I cloned a hard drive from another dv6-7000 model, and when I installed it the computer properties says I have 3 days to activate windows. I can't find a utility that will open the BIOS so I can re-install the system information. When I access the BIOS by hitting the ESC key on startup is also says OS Unknown where it should say Windows 7 when I am in BIOS mode. I am getting ready to remove the motherboard again. I will reply with all the numbers I can find on the motherboard. Thanks for your help.
     
  11. rdr1556

    rdr1556 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    These are the numbers on the MB.
    55.4ST01.311G22901424KS2B
    M/0:000020891103
    MB-CT:pCRGC2B2E2Y15B
    There in one other number label attached t 2 chips near and under the heatsink which is:
    CL0904-2-50TR-R
    14CH12 C
    On the other side of the board in a white box are written.
    Goya/Balen 1.0-UMA MB
    11276-2 1218-22-22
    48.4ST04.021 2-9
    94V-0
    There is also a LAN ID A0B3CC45C33C but I don't think you need that one.
     
  12. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
    This seems to be the correct model board for a Dv6t-7000 or one of the models listed here:

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/HP-DV6-7000-Intel-Laptop-Motherboard-s989-682177-001-/151254264697

    The ID matches.

    Your ID information lacks this one number ID: 682168-001 which is on a label that must not have been on your board, or it was a board used by a different manufacturer...tattoo erased...whatever.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/682168-001-...247939801?pt=Motherboards&hash=item2edb4fdcd9

    You can see at ebay most of the similar boards are using that 682xxxxxxxc ID, as well as the 55.xxxxx etc.

    No reason yours should not work. Everything points to working fine with an HP Envy dv6t-7000
     
  13. rdr1556

    rdr1556 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Yes I need to know how to tattoo the information back onto the MB. The HPBQ138.exe program will not open the BIOS so I can re-tattoo it. Can you help with this? That number is 682177-001
     
  14. Byteman

    Byteman Gone but Never Forgotten

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    17,742
  15. rdr1556

    rdr1556 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    That is the product number is A3E87AV. Model is dv6t-7000. This is off the label under the battery. The only other is a simple Pavilion dv6. dv6t-7000 is the sub model.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1140296

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice