1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HP bootup problem

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by oldwood, Feb 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. oldwood

    oldwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    I have a HP Pavillion 553x desktop. When powering up it starts for a few seconds sometimes longer then goes to standby and won't come out of standby. Sometime (but rarely) will boot to the desktop but most of the time it will only boot for 1 to 3 seconds before going to standby. Any suggestions?
     
  2. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    When you say standby--do you hear fans running still?

    You mean blank/black monitor, but it seems like the machine is still going...right?
     
  3. oldwood

    oldwood Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Happens at various times after bootup and will happen while in the BIOS setup program as well.

    Symptoms:
    -Screen Blank
    -Both Fans stop
    -LED on power supply is off (which goes off after startup)
    -LED on power switch remains on
    -Hard Drive stops spinning
    -Keyboard input stops (caps lock is not able to have LED toggled) but num lock LED remains on

    Power supply???
     
  4. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    No promises that this is your cause but it's easy to check because I've seen this cured with a CMOS / BIOS reset. Unplug the machine, wait a couple minutes then pull the battery for a couple minutes, replace the battery, plug it back in and boot up. Some machines may require you pull a jumper to reset the CMOS.
     
  5. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    So rather than standby, it shuts down completely.

    Ok, couple of things you can try.

    1) Open the case and inspect all the connections for loose connectors of any kind. IDE/SATA cables, power cables, etc.

    2) While you're in there, see how much dirt has accumulated on the CPU heatsink. If it's piling up, hose it out with canned air. (Take it outside)

    3) Also remove and reseat the RAM, making sure that both locks on the ends engage completely with the RAM.

    Try it one more time, and if all of that fails, the PSU is the next place to look.
     
  6. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    Yup, typing at the same time. If it's as you say it may very well be hardware related as sam says but S3 standby mode also shuts down fans, drives, etc., all but the memory whereas S1 does not. I might try the CMOS reset before long just in case. can't hurt.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544583

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice