1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HP Computer Will no come out of Power Save Mode

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by narcmancpd, Apr 5, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. narcmancpd

    narcmancpd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    I have an HP Pavillion Model a264w that went into power save mode and won't come out of it, I've shut it on an off several times and the bios wont even show up on screen during boot up, but the computer does however boot up without video, I'm put in new video card and hard drive, and also new memory. I have moved the mouse and struck the keyboard but all to no avail can anyone of you help me out there. Thanx :confused:
     
  2. gotrootdude

    gotrootdude

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    8,812
    Check the pins on the monitor connector and see if any are bent or missing.
     
  3. narcmancpd

    narcmancpd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Yes tried that and the pins are good, have actually tried it with several different monitors but all to no avail, thanx.
     
  4. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Have you tried clearing the cmos by moving the jumper?
     
  5. narcmancpd

    narcmancpd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Ok I'll try that thanx
     
  6. narcmancpd

    narcmancpd Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Now I just removed to jumpers right near the CMOS Battery but still no help I'm pretty sure these are the right jumpers as they are the only ones visible, I'm ready to shoot the machine!!!!

    Thanx though
     
  7. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Did you disconnect power supply first?
     
  8. dustyjay

    dustyjay

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    12,661
    First Name:
    Jay
    Just to be sure you are actually clearing the cmos, turn the power off, unplug the computer then remove the battery for a few minutes. Put the battery back in plug the comuter back up and power up. you should then be in the factory default settings.
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217307

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice