1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HP DV6700 running extremely slow......factory reset?

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by shah9097, Jan 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. shah9097

    shah9097 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Hi,
    I have an HP dv6700 laptop almost 5 years old. Recently the screen went blank and after searching through the online forums and performing a number of tests, I figured the issue was with the video card as that issue is apparently known for such laptops with NVidia cards. I had that fixed and the repair firm informed that they performed the following:
    We perform a thoroughcleaning & blow out the fan.
    To protect against future issues, we also install a copper shim & Arctic Silver thermal paste.
    I had my hard drive removed before sending out the laptop for the fix. After it got back and the video being fixed on the laptop, I replaced the old hard drive back. However, now my laptop is running extremely slow. It was not this slow prior to the video card issue. It freezes if I try to use the windows defragmenter or run any other tasks that require significant hard drive usage. I was able to run the defragmenter after using a free non-windows version but that didn't help much. Internet pages take ~3 to 5 mins to load. However, connecting the laptop to my work computer remotely works like before. I'd like to know what could potentially be the issue and ways to resolve. Would a system restore help? I was able to transfer all my saved files to another laptop. The only thing i'd lose (and trying not to) would be Microsoft Office since I can't find the product key.
    System Specs:
    Intel Core 2 Duo T5450 at 1.66 GHZ
    RAM: 3 GB
    32 bit operating system
    Any help is much appreciated!
     
  2. CLCS

    CLCS

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    Messages:
    47
    First I would run a hard disk diagnostic and if your hard drive is ok then do a factory reset. Go here and download the windows installer, run the tests, if you don't know what the results mean go ahead and post some screenshots.

    http://gsmartcontrol.berlios.de/home/index.php/Downloads
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,957
    First Name:
    Terry
    Magical Jelly Bean Keyfinder is one way to find your Product keys.

    I concur with the advice to run hard drive diagnostics, but I'd just start with Windows' Disk Check.
     
  4. shah9097

    shah9097 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Thank you for your replies and suggestions. I just ran the disk check using the Windows version.

    CLCS - I clicked on the link you suggested but that stuff is over my head. Not too sure what I should be downloading from there, etc.

    Anyways, the Windows disk check said that no problems were found on the disk.

    Question now is - what are other potential issues with the laptop? I feel like the disk defragmenter helped slightly in that the programs on the C drive seem to run ok. I doubt i'd have been able to run the disk check without freezing the laptop before but at this time I was able to do so. However, the internet pages still take ages to load. And I know it's not a network/Wi-Fi issue since other devices are running ok.

    Would a factory reset help? Any other options I have?

    Thanks again.
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,957
    First Name:
    Terry
    What browser(s) are you using?

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  6. shah9097

    shah9097 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    I'm using IE9.

    I performed the operations you suggested and rest the winsock. Still same issues. Startup is slow and internet pages slower.

    Any other recommendations.

    As always, appreciate your suggestions.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,957
    First Name:
    Terry
    Try an IE Reset.

    This problem happens with both ethernet and wireless connections, right?
     
  8. shah9097

    shah9097 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Yes, it happens with both the Ethernet cable or the wireless.

    I may have been wrong regarding the programs running ok but not the internet. It took me 3 tries to get the laptop started today coz it kept hanging up during startup before the login page. it literally took ~ 30 mins to load techguy.org. I was finally able to reset IE but no change.

    I was able to obtain the product keys using magical jelly bean so thanks for that recommendation.

    Any more suggestions?

    For something of this sort, would a factory reset help?
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,957
    First Name:
    Terry
    Possible help for the browsing ...

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista and 7 and 8.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt. [For Windows 8: <Windows Logo> + x - Command Prompt(Admin)]

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
    -------------------------------------------

    It sounds like the system may be pretty messed up; if so a reset to factory default should certainly help. But, the root cause could be a hardware problem. Before doing the factory reset I'd check out the hard drive and memory.

    A popular memory test is Memtest86+.

    The best hard drive diagnostics are ones you can get from the hard drive manufacturer. Most times, however, I just use Windows' disk check. In a Command Prompt--or elevated Command Prompt if necessary--I run chkdsk. If errors are found I then run chkdsk /f and respond yes to the question about running at the next boot. Then restart, let the disk check run, and repeat the process until there are no more errors or the errors seem to be non threatening.
     
  10. shah9097

    shah9097 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    I already performed the check disk and the winsock reset earlier and found no errors (see earlier posts). Do you think I should do those again based on your recent post?''

    I'll try the memory test next and post the results later today.
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,957
    First Name:
    Terry
    Doesn't hurt, but no, I just neglected to look back to see what we had already done. :eek: Sorry.
     
  12. shah9097

    shah9097 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    No worries. I appreciate you providing guidance.

    I looked up the memtest site you provided and didn't know what to download. What should i be looking for there? The latest v4 from 2011 has three different versions and I'm not too sure which one would help??
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,957
    First Name:
    Terry
    I would get the latest (4.20) version.
     
  14. shah9097

    shah9097 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    There's a pre-compiled bootable ISO and a pre-compiles bootable binary. Not sure which one of the 2?
     
  15. shah9097

    shah9097 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    I just ran the Windows Vista memory diagnostic test (the one that comes with Windows) and it gave me no errors. Is that a good enough test?

    Any other tests I should look into?
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1085604

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice