1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HP Help and Support Center...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by at_random, Feb 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. at_random

    at_random Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    208
    Anyone know how to prevent it from loading at startup? I rarely ever use it...
     
  2. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    Control panel/computer management/services/help and support/

    Kill it!! :)
     
  3. at_random

    at_random Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    208
    Tried that and it didn't work...it still loads when I reset the pc.
     
  4. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    Click start, run, and then type in msconfig

    That will open selective start up. Click on services and uncheck help and support. Reboot and that should kill the sucker.
     
  5. at_random

    at_random Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    208
    That doesn't work either...there's an option to disable "Microsoft Help and Support" but not "HP Help and Support."
     
  6. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    Is it in add/remove programs. I think it is if I am remembering correctly. Uninstall it. You'll never need it anyway most likely.
     
  7. at_random

    at_random Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2001
    Messages:
    208
    Nope, it's not there :confused:
     
  8. Skivvywaver

    Skivvywaver

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2001
    Messages:
    13,947
    I am out of ideas. Did I ever tell you my HP nightmares? You don't want to hear them I promise.

    I build my machines and put on them what I want, not what HP or Dell thinks I should have. My last HP, I formatted the disk and installed XP Pro on it. Wiped the recovery partition and all. Threw the restore disks that I made for it away.:D
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/330538

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice