HP Image Zone not showing all pictures

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Brianthebull

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
63
Good Evening Everyone,
I have a HP Image Zone and have been printing and stuff quite happily, getting to know how it works and everything is hunky-dory.
But then...time stumbles into the new year and, that's my lot! No more pictures. All the pictures in 2006 and before are available for all to see, but nothing after. :eek:
I can find all the folders that have been created to keep new photos in, but the photos themselves are not shown. :(
I can see and open the pictures no problem with Windows etc.

Help me Obi-Wan, you're my only hope.
:D
 

buck52

Banned
Joined
Mar 9, 2001
Messages
8,372
Has this been happening since the new year?

When in explorer what happens if you right click on a picture and select "open with"? Is HP in the list? If so click on it and click OK.

Does the picture open with HP?
 

Brianthebull

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
63
Yup, any picture saved after december won't show up in IZ.
When I just double click on a photo icon and open it in windows it is photo editor that opens it, I have never had it any other way.
I do not know if HP is on the list if I right click it as I am not at my desk, I will check when I get home later.
I have ZoomBrowser EX, which I got with my Canon camera which I use to download the photos from the camera as it files them better than IZ, and then for resizing and printing I use HP IZ as it is easier.
I have always done it this way, and haven't changed any settings with no problems which is why is dumbfounded me
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,141
If resizing and printing is all you do with HPIZ ... I'd suggest quit using it ... and get ...
http://www.download.com/IrfanView/3000-2192_4-10021962.html
It's also great for replacing MS Image n Fax Viewer as your systems default viewer.

There have been many problem posts here at TSG about HPIZ.

Your HPIZ problem may be related to the MS update to IE7.
Do you have a HP scanner ???
 

Brianthebull

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
63
buck52 said:
Has this been happening since the new year?

When in explorer what happens if you right click on a picture and select "open with"? Is HP in the list? If so click on it and click OK.

Does the picture open with HP?
I have tried the right click, 'open with...' but it doesn't give me the option to use HP.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
7,954
I would use something else to organize and basically edit them. Google's Picasa and IrfanView are both good choices.


When I first started reading this, it reminded me of the Y2K bug.... :p
 

Brianthebull

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
63
Noyb -
Your HPIZ problem may be related to the MS update to IE7.
Do you have a HP scanner ???
Could you elaborate on the IE7 thing?
Yes, I have a printer/scanner/copier, PSC13something or other.

Farrija1 -
I would use something else to organize and basically edit them. Google's Picasa and IrfanView are both good choices
.

I think I will give them a go. It's just odd that it has stopped on the flip from one year to the next and would be nice to know why.

Bloody computers. never got this problem with a photo album. ;)
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,141
The IE7 update kills HPIZ's ability to run the scanner.
The scanner controls are there ... you just can't see them ... thanks to IE7
M$ camera n scanner wizard still works OK with your scanner.

I refuse to run HPIZ ... and use Irfanview ... even to run my HP All-in-One printer/scanner.
You can't remove HPIZ (at least parts of it) because you need the HP Twain driver for your scanner ..
But you sure don't have to use HPIZ.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
7,954
Noyb said:
The IE7 update kills HPIZ's ability to run the scanner.
The scanner controls are there ... you just can't see them ... thanks to IE7
M$ camera n scanner wizard still works OK with your scanner.
That seems weird...
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,141
IE7 only prevents the HPIZ (scanner?) window from being visible.
HP was working on this .. don't know if they've published a fix yet.

IMHO ... If you use HPIZ .. You're just asking for problems.

You can go to the HP site and download just the Basic software for your Scanner/Printer ...
So you can have the Printer driver and scanner twain driver.

Then anything (except HPIZ) can run the scanner.

There's a trick to making an Irfanview shortcut that looks like a Scanner ...
Then it will run the scanner (using M$ Camera n Scanner wizard's tools) and open the scanned Image in Irfanview....
Where it can be viewed / edited as needed ... prior to "Saving As" somewhere.

All that's needed is the HP's scanner twain driver.
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
4,469
I have no problems with my HP scanner(PSC 1610) and IE7.
I disabled anti-virus when I installed IE7 as per instructions.
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,141
Me Too.
All I had to install was the basic version (26MB) for my 1610 ...
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/softwareList?os=228&lc=en&cc=us&dlc=en&product=390325&lang=en

The PSC 1610 full HPIZ seriously messes up Two of my HP MCE computers.

If I don't shut off the 1610 before I turn off the Computer ... all my display setting are lost at the next boot.
Installing the basic software was only a partial fix.

Now when I turn off the 1610 .. it continues to connect and disconnect (the USB sound) until I reboot.

Maybe even HP doesn't like HP ... You think ??
 
Joined
Dec 8, 2006
Messages
4,469
lol. I don't know. I have the full install package. No problems. I just finished scanning some pics a week ago for a friend to take to James McMurtry. Every feature seems to be working for me.
 
Joined
Apr 11, 2006
Messages
7,954
XPSP2 said:
lol. I don't know. I have the full install package. No problems. I just finished scanning some pics a week ago for a friend to take to James McMurtry. Every feature seems to be working for me...
...so far.... :D ;)
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top