1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

hp laptop will not connect to internet

Discussion in 'Networking' started by nemebass, Aug 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. nemebass

    nemebass Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    hello, having a problem with the internet connection on a hp pavilion dv6-6108 laptop
    was working fine a couple of weeks ago then just stop connecting to the internet via wirless
    tried a LAN cable and still is saying that it cannot identify the IP address
    was reading previus posts and this is the result of the ipconfig /all

    C:\Users\Jessica>ipconfig /all
    Windows IP Configuration
    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Jessica-HP
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 3:
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Ralink RT5390 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter #3
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 38-59-F9-2F-8C-B7
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::40e2:d77a:d4db:aa26%18(Preferred)
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.170.38(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 272128505
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-15-B8-CE-F9-10-1F-74-0D-38-99
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
    fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled
    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 10-1F-74-0D-38-99
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{361C93BC-600C-43E6-B1D7-1FD4B1F7CD03}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 9:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Tunnel adapter isatap.{455D6127-CDD0-4043-8371-070E320DE4CE}:
    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    also tried pinging the ip address, which resulted in 4 general failures

    device manager is saying the adaptor is working properly but.........

    any sugestions will be helpful thank you
     
  2. 20_2_Many

    20_2_Many

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    518
    Autoconfiguration IPv4 Address. . : 169.254.170.38(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    These lines indicate the origin of the issue. IP Address 169.xxx.xxx.xxx means you are not being assigned an IP Address from the DHCP Server. It also means your adapter is working enough to know it should have received an Address, but it didn't so it assigned itself the 169....(It is good news)
    Next stop in line may be your Router or Cable Modem - however your setup is configured. They may need a simple power cycle. Do not know what you have, but saying you have both, turn both off for a minute. Turn on the Cable Modem and let it boot completely. Turn on the Router, letting it boot completely. Turn on computer and see how it is. If not working, turn all off again, and turn on Router then Cable Modem then computer in order, allowing each to boot completly. Still not working then we will need to know the Name Make and Model of the Router and Modem to dig deeper. (Also try the boot sequences using a Wired Connection)
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,582
    The Media disconnected for the ethernet probably means a defective cable or NIC.
     
  4. nemebass

    nemebass Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    I have both linksys modem and router
    all other computers and devices in the house work properly
    the hp laptop will not connect when the ethernet cable is hooked up
    the cable works fine on desktop
    also allready tried reseting the router and modem which also did not work

    is it posible that the card in the laptop is faulty???though ive never heard of that happening
    i did have to swap the memory out, the original stick was faulty
    the laptop was purchased in Jan.
     
  5. nemebass

    nemebass Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    dont know if it was coincidence or not, the problem began after an adobe flash update
    i dont see why that would cause it though
     
  6. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,582
    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Vista or 7.

    Start - All Programs - Accessories and right click on Command Prompt, select "Run as Administrator" to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset IPv4 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv4 reset reset.log

    Reset IPv6 TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ipv6 reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  7. nemebass

    nemebass Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    macafee, the free one with cox cable subscription, have it on all my computers
    did the three resets through command prompt
    still did not fix the problem
    still conects with limited conectivity, but cannot access the internet
     
  8. 20_2_Many

    20_2_Many

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    518
    Look though all of your Router Settings. Be sure you have no Blocked Clients or MAC Filters that would exclude this computer. Connecting the computer directly to the Cable Modem will eliminate the Router. If it works then a Patch cable from Modem to Router to Computer should also work. If not, then a hard reset on the Router would be my next step.Be sure you know how to reconnect and reconfigure the router, the reset will disconnect all the other computers. Many how to videos on youtube
     
  9. cantfly

    cantfly Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    16
  10. TerryNet

    TerryNet Terry Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    69,582
    Uninstall McAfee and run the Removal Tool. You can reinstall after testing.
     
  11. nemebass

    nemebass Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    no blocked clients on modem or router
    the comp will not connect with LAN cable
    all other computers work fine on modem and router
    the HP just wont work
    it will connect but with limited conectivity on both wifi and Lan cable
     
  12. 20_2_Many

    20_2_Many

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    518
  13. 20_2_Many

    20_2_Many

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2012
    Messages:
    518
    OS not OD -
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1064774