1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HP Pavilion Restore to Factory Settings!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by TrayX, Dec 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TrayX

    TrayX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
     
  2. TrayX

    TrayX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Someone?
     
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,941
    First Name:
    Terry
    Where was the above originally posted?

    What does your quoted post have to do with the thread title?
     
  4. TrayX

    TrayX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    The thread name is because it was an action I performed, and do not think I mentioned in my quote.

    Also the quote is still my question, it is originally posted on techsupportforums, but I am not getting any help whatsoever from anywhere I bring forth my case.

    Are you capable of helping?
     
  5. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,941
    First Name:
    Terry
    Thanks. So, I understand your issue to be "I am not able to connect to my router even though I am inputing the correct password."

    Can you successfully connect by ethernet?

    Disable encryption on the router and see if you can connect that way.

    The following was put together mostly by etaf with a little help from me.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Atheros Wireless Adapter - AR5007EG & AR5007
    Over the last couple of years we have been seeing a lot of problems with the above adapters, mainly concerning WPA and WPA2 encryption and mainly on windows Vista.
    We have seen just a couple of issues on other windows operating system, windows XP and windows 7.

    Windows XP:- A driver update has resolved the issue
    Windows 7 :- No conclusive results for a fix

    The wireless adapter gets an IP configuration, and shows as connected, but communication is non-existent or sporadic.

    Log into the Router and disable the wireless security and see if you are now able to connect to the internet and surf OK.
    Please post back a reply here, and let us know if that works or does not work.
    If you post back the make and exact model of the router - we can advise how to disable the wireless security

    Here are a number of possible solutions

    --- 1) In Device Manager right click on the wireless adapter and "update driver."

    --- 2) Download and install the latest wireless driver from your laptop manufacturer's web site support section,

    If you post a reply here with the Make and EXACT model of your PC, along with the windows version you are running. we will see if we can find a link to the driver and will post a reply with the link here.

    --- 3) On one occasion re-setting the router back to factory default and re-configuring the router settings has resolved the issue

    --- 4) The majority of members, have now used the drivers from the atheros driver site, which has resolved the issue.
    - see below for direct links for windows vista and the link for all Atheros adapters and supported operating systems


    AR5007
    Vista 32 / 64 Bit
    Direct link Drivers for Atheros AR5007 and Windows Vista 32 / 64 bit
    You only need to click on the green download button labelled " Click to Download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started


    AR5007EG
    Vista 32 / 64 Bit
    Direct link Drivers for Atheros AR5007EG and Windows Vista 32 / 64 bit
    You only need to click on the green download button labelled " Click to Download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started


    Drivers for the other windows operating system
    http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-drivers.php
    You need to look down the page for your particular adapter model and then look across the columns to find your windows version.
    Now click on the blue tick mark in the column under your windows version.
    This will open another page for that particular adapter and that windows version.

    Now click on the download button labelled " Click to Download " and wait, the file will download - you do not need to click on any other buttons to get the download started

    Assuming that after all the above the wireless still does not connect to the internet, all I can suggest is to use wireless security of WEP or to get an external USB wireless card.

    Please post a reply here , and keep us informed of the situation and how you finally resolved the issue.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  6. TrayX

    TrayX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    It works, but I'm not too comfortable with having my network open.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,941
    First Name:
    Terry
    Read the rest of the post and see if you can find a driver that works. If none work then at least try WEP as a temporary measure.
     
  8. TrayX

    TrayX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    I downloaded the drivers you selected and ran updates and I still am unable to connect to my internet when it isn't unsecured. I tried the WEP, and all most got blocked out from my own router; unable to connect as it changed into an 'Unknown Network'.

    How do I fix my new problem?
     
  9. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,941
    First Name:
    Terry
     
  10. TrayX

    TrayX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Okay, I want to try WEP.
    Go would I go about doing that; can you explain in full detail? I see drop boxes and four "Key"s.. I'm unsure what I should be choosing.
    Also, if I choose the 64-bit encrypting what is hexidecimal? I tried a combination of letters and numbers in the first key and completely blanked the remaining three keys, and I received an error about "all zeros"?

    Again, can you explain how I would go about doing so, so my family only has access to the network?

    Router: CDG24G (if that helps)
     
  11. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,941
    First Name:
    Terry
    Just use the first key. Hexidecimal is the 16-bit numbering system, and the digits are 0123456789abcdef

    For 64-bit WEP you have a ten-digit hex key--for example, dad8feed43
     
  12. TrayX

    TrayX Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    All righty, thank you, Sir, I got it running on WEP for my HP now.
    Thanks for helping solve my problem!
     
  13. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,941
    First Name:
    Terry
    You're welcome. :)
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1082241

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice