HP Pavillion 6000us - MBR and blue screen...?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TexasGator

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
6
Hi,

I have a HP Pavillion 6000us, it started looping to MBR Errors.

- I ran HD diagnostics and it failed in the first test, fail code 07.
- The HP support site seemed to point to HD failure, so I ordered a new HD from HP.

- Using newly installed new HD and run Recovery from DVD, just after Recovery starts running I get the Blue Screen of Death.

- Couple calls to support suggested Motherboard failure.

- Further looking and seems MotherBoard no longer [email protected]#$%.

Any suggestions?

Many thanks,

Texas Gator
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
320
Take a picture of the BSOD and post it here.

Also for future reference when it comes to buying parts from manufactures its usually not worth it as they charge a premium for parts you could order online for less and get better parts.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
320
hmm i was hoping it would provide some specific error.
have you tried to reinstall again?
maybe dont use the recovery disks but some other copy of windows you have just to test with it to see if it works?
 

TexasGator

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
6
Yes,

I have switched back and forth between old HD and New HD several times.

Old HD constantly gives MBR Error - fails HP Diag test.

New HD constantly gives BSoD - passes HP Diag tests.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
320
well i mean use another windows cd, (not the recovery cds) and install another version of windows on the New hard Drive.

Also you can try to put in the old hard drive & when you turn on the computer it probably says something like press F10 for recovery mode or something similar, do that and reinstall windows.
 

TexasGator

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 15, 2011
Messages
6
OK, I made a bootable CD using BootSuite.

Its a no-go with the old drive, Windows will not come up with old drive in PC. If I remove old drive, I can boot windows from the CD...
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
320
ok but when you have the old drive, try to do a system recovery just to see if it works.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2007
Messages
320
Ok, I tried a recovery with the old drive, I get "NTDETECT Failed" message. ?
Now did you try it with the CDs to do recovery or did you do it without the CDs?

I dont really think its a motherboard issue personally... or at least not yet. You can also getting another version of windows if you have a spare laying around and try to install it on the new hard drive just to see if it works.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top