1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HP pavillion & MMKEYBD.EXE

Discussion in 'Virus & Other Malware Removal' started by plwc, Apr 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. plwc

    plwc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    I have an HP9680C bought it three years ago, Today i noticed the keyboard volume control dosen't work, after doing some poking around on google I found a discussion about HP using spyware
    MMKEYBD.EXE being the culprit
    I may have deleted
    MMKEYBD.EXE anyone familiar with this?

    here's the link where I read about this
    http://www.gank.com/spyware/HP/index.htm
     
  2. plwc

    plwc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    I went back with hijack this and checked the start up log, netropa one touch keyboard is still running, now I'm stumped thought I'd discovered why my volume control dosen't work.

    I'm comming to the conclusion that computers really suck,
    all this spyware madness is leaving a very very bad taste in my mouth, hell I'd
    probally lose 20 pounds just by doing something else besides sitting here %^&$% with this thing till I'm blue in the face
    Computers really do suck eggs if this is true HP is really on my Shitlist now

    C:\PROGRAM FILES\NETROPA\ONE-TOUCH MULTIMEDIA KEYBOARD\MMKEYBD.EXE
     
  3. Mike Healan

    Mike Healan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    5
    That is a load of nonsense (from that site, not from you). That ping is for certain keyboards which have an LED light to show whether it is online or not. It's an unbelievably stupid way to do that, but a simple "ping" is all the keyboard is doing. This is not spyware.

    I believe a newer version of that file does not do this.
     
  4. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    Your multimedia keys may be disabled.

    Go to control Panel>Keyboard>Keyboard Manager

    Near the bottom of that page is a check box labeled:
    Enable multimedia buttons and onscreen display.

    Check it and apply.
     
  5. plwc

    plwc Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    Checked that out, the box was already checked.
    Thanx for trying to help...........Don
     
  6. Mosaic1

    Mosaic1

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    7,486
    If the box was checked, uncheck it and then apply. Recheck it and apply.

    If that doesn't help, get out the third CD. The Applicaitons CD and reinstall the multimedia keyboard.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/128832

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice