HP Pavillion Start-UP beeps

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

ajdfrankum

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2004
Messages
3
I have a Pavillion 7855 and when I try to power it up, I get 4 beeps and the hard drive never spools up. What is my problem? Thanks in advance for the help.
 

ajdfrankum

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2004
Messages
3
Thanks for the response...They are all short beeps and I'm sure that there is only 4.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2003
Messages
1,280
If there was an error message on the screen after four beeps, it could be the memory. To test that, download and run Windows Memory Diagnostic.

Otherwise, the number of beeps does not make sense if you have Phoenix BIOS.

Let me know which version of BIOS you have: boot the computer and the first screen up should tell you what kind of BIOS you have (Phoenix, AMI, etc.)
 

ajdfrankum

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 18, 2004
Messages
3
Thanks for the response. The machine wont boot up. After the 4 beeps it doesn't being the start up sequence. I'm not sure what BIOS it has. I looked on the internet to no avail. Do you know where I the memory is located (i.e. what it looks like) so I can pull it out and try to replace it?
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2003
Messages
1,280
My PM Response:

I'm not sure if it's the memory. From what you are describing, it may be more than memory if nothing starts up.

From your first post, I thought it powered up, but nothing happened except beeps.


First, check the following, which you probably did, but this is just to be sure (I know you said it beeped, but humor me):

1. See if it's plugged in.
2. Check to see if it works in another outlet (without the power strip, if you are using one).
3. Check to see if the power supply is on. The power switch is located somewhere near where the power cord connects to the computer.]



If all of the above does not work:

It could be the:

- power supply (it's the part that's attached to the power cord that goes to the electical outlet);

- motherboard (which could be very bad);

- processor (also pretty bad).

To find the power supply -- open up the case and take a look to see how many Watts it is. If you did not add additional hardware onto the computer since it was purchased (i.e., new video card, sound card, another hard drive, new optical drives, etc.), you can go ahead and purchase the same number Watts or a bit bigger power supply.

You are looking for an ATX Power Supply, from reputable brands like Antec and Enermax (those are the only two I use). I usually shop at Newegg.com.

If you don't feel comfortable with replacing it yourself, the other alternative is to take it to a repair shop and have them check it out.

Edit:

Replacing a power supply is not that difficult -- take a look at http://www.tomshardware.com/howto/20020904/diy-03.html for more information about the power supply and see the entire article about building a computer. It will help you figure out what part goes where.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2001
Messages
13,958
Does it have a video card or an onboard? Try reseating the card if you have one. Also try booting it up with 1 stick of ram at a time. It sounds like either the vid card or the ram.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

No members online now.
Top