HP Scanner Jer 4300c

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

csadoff

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
11
All of a sudden my scanner buttons do not work and I get the following error message: Failed to create empty document." I have reinstalled scanner and still no luck. Pls. help as I am not a person use to the computer.:confused:
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,258
Hiya

I've moved you to Software :)

Which version of Windows are you running? Also, what is the driver version that you have?

Go to Control panel | System. Device Manager. Under Printer, rightclick and choose Properties, Driver tab.

Regards

eddie
 

csadoff

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 9, 2004
Messages
11
windows 98 I'm not a knowledgeable computer user and don't know what driver version I have. How do I find out?
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2001
Messages
601
Quote:



Go to Control panel | System. Device Manager. Under Printer, rightclick and choose Properties, Driver tab.

Regards

eddie
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2003
Messages
5,837
Give this a try.

Find the copy and scan utilities under Start > Programs and activate them one time for each using that method. Close them and then try the buttons on the scanner itself. I have a 4100C H-P scanner that did the same thing after an install and going through that process fixed the problem for me. I don't have a clue as to why.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2004
Messages
60
I have a hp 4200c and I can/\'t get my winfax pro to work every thing was fine untill I put in xp. I have tryed hp up dates that said they were for xp. It took over 3hr. to download and xp still said it was not comepatable
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,258
Overlooked this email, sorry:

I did control panel.system.device mgr but did not see something that said
printer. What I did see said "ECP Printer Port(LPT1). Is that the same? Pls.
be patient with me. Appreciate your help.
Does it not state anything with the words HP, or the name of your printer?

Have you tried what Raybro posted? That may work as it was the same problem.

eddie
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top