HP Z400 RAM confusion

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

FutureKing

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
43
Hi,

I have HP Z400 workstation. It came with 2 x 2GB = 4GB Ram
I just added 2 x 4GB Ram in it.
The following document says I can add 4GB 4GB 2GB 2GB = 12GB Ram in my system.
http://h18004.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/13276_div/13276_div.PDF

But the problem is the confusion on memory slots.

The CPU box says memory slots are in order

1 4 2 5 3 6

and when I open the HP Support Assistant it says
1 2 3 4 5 6

You will better understand from the image given below
http://postimage.org/image/wlacv1xdn/
 

Attachments

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,260
What you really should do is add matching 4 GB modules in slots 1-2-3.
(per your topmost diagram)

---------------------------------------------------------
 

FutureKing

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
43
I think you didn't understand my problem.

HP Documentation says I should add the RAM in following order

4GB ---> slot 1
4GB ---> slot 2
2GB ---> slot 3
2GB ---> slot4

I am confused about the slot ordering.
Which order should I believe is correct and follow? Given in CPU box or Shown by HP Support Assistent?
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,260
Aren't the slots numbered and color-coded?

---------------------------------------------------------
 

FutureKing

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
43
Yes they are numbered and color coded but I am getting two different numbers.

As given in cpu box is different from what I see in HP support assistent.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,260
That workstation probably has triple-channel architecture.

If you want 12 GB, install 4 GB modules in the color-coded 1-2-3 slots.

----------------------------------------------------------
 
Joined
Feb 7, 2013
Messages
350
I would suggest grabbing another 4gb stick and a 2gb stick.

3x4GB and 3x2GB. That would give you 18GB of triple channel memory.
 

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Joined
May 12, 2002
Messages
82,260
I would suggest grabbing another 4gb stick and a 2gb stick.

3x4GB and 3x2GB. That would give you 18GB of triple channel memory.
As cheap as DDR3 modules are, that's a good idea.

----------------------------------------------------------
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top