1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HpScanner Question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by cristyna77, Jan 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cristyna77

    cristyna77 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    A friend of ours manage to break 2 of our scanners and wanted to rectify the situation by buying us another scanner. A computer bud of hers gave her a HP Scanjet 4100c flatbed scanner and she gave us our "new" scanner-WITHOUT the software or either of the USB and AC power cord. We have a universal USB we can use, but the question we have is whether or not a Universal AC adapter (at the correct voltage), will work ok with the scanner. The specs on the bottom of the scanner say it requires a 30VDC/400mA voltage adapter which we should be able to find at RadioShack.

    So are we SOL, or will it work?

    Eagerly awaiting a response,
    cristyna77
     
  2. flyeater

    flyeater

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,452
    It should but you'll want the drivers for this. Look here
     
  3. cristyna77

    cristyna77 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Right on! Found the software AND drivers I need for the scanner.

    Thanks a bunch for the speedy response!

    cristyna77 :)
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    FWIW, I don't think you'll find that power supply at RS, 30V seems like an odd-ball voltage for most generic supplies. I'd bite the bullet and get it from HP.
     
  5. cristyna77

    cristyna77 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2002
    Messages:
    56
    Will order from the Hp site then.

    Thanks for the help and sorry for the delayed reply.

    :)
    cristyna77
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/112430

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice