Html Coading

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Steven715

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 1999
Messages
405
Hello i am creating a webpage It has a frame to split up the Menu and the body of the page how can i click a link in the menu and it bring it up on the outher side the body? How can i do this The menu and the main body of the page is 2 diffrent html documents.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
2,910
you need to add target to your link, say your two frames are named nav and main. In the nav frame you have your links, which you would like to pop up in the main frame. To do this you would make your links like this:
a href="http://thisisthelink.html" target="main" This is the link /a

you of course, need to add the <>'s to make this work correctly
 

Steven715

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 14, 1999
Messages
405
Thank you very mutch i will give it a try!
Thank you very mutch! Once again
 
Joined
May 26, 1999
Messages
16
Just a suggestion - we got so fed up with the hassles of frames that we now use includes for top bars and sidebars etc. You still only keep one copy of your menu but any scripts and links don't have to work out which frame they are supposed to use.
Cheers
bob
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Messages
2,910
I've never heard of includes, how do you go about using them?
Do you have an example I could see?
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2000
Messages
2
You can set a default target frame in the "Head" section of your menu frame by adding the line (of course each line needs to be enclosed in the braces "<>"):

BASE TARGET=name

where "name" is the target frame.

That is an easy way to do it. However if you want to individually control targets for each hyperlink, you would add the Target parameter to each of your hyperlink tags within the <BODY> section.

For example:

A HREF="url" TARGET=name

again "name" is the target frame.

Hope this helps....

Cyndee
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top