1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HTML frames

Discussion in 'Software Development' started by compstudent, Oct 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. compstudent

compstudent Thread Starter

hi! i'm new to html and just learned the basics from a few online tutorials. i started building my very 1st html website using geocities. a plain site seems to work but when i tried to practice adding frames, the frames worked but the body/contents inside the frame didn't.

<html>
    <head>
    <title>title goes here</title>
    </head>

<frameset cols="15%, 25%">
    <frame src="left.htm" name="menu">
    <frame src="right.htm" name="main">
    </frameset>
    <noframes>
    </noframes>
    <body>anything goes</body>
    </html>

my questions:

1) do i really need to include <noframes></noframes>?
    2) do i need to open a new file for the contents and a separate file for making frames?
    3) how can i put 2 different bgcolor for each frame?
    4) how can i put the contents inside the frames? i mean where will i insert the codes?

some tutorials are easy to understand but putting the contents inside the frame confuses me.

please help!

thanks!

2. Squashman

Squashman Trusted Advisor

You put your content in the frames. You need to put your code in the left.htm and right.htm files.

3. Squashman

Here is what I did for one site that I created.

<!--create two row wise frames-->

<!--make the first row a static logo, and the second the body of the page-->

<frameset rows="60,*" frameborder=no>
    <frame name="maintop" src="button.html" TITLE="Navigation Bar" marginwidth=0 marginheight=0 scrolling="no" LONGDESC="n
    avigatepurpose.txt">

<frame name="mainbottom" src="main.shtml" TITLE="Frame Changed by Navigation Bar" LONGDESC="contentpurpose.txt">