HTML help, please!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Nando

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
245
Hi,
I want some HTML help.
I have this pre-build design in my personal site, check it here:
http://209.51.138.218/~nando/blog/

Ok:

1 - I want to make a column on the right, just like the one in the left, leaving the the big column in the middle.

2 - I want the links to have some kind of efects when I put the mouse on it. Maybe a darker color in bold... This is CSS, right? I know noting about CSS.

Please help! ;)
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Messages
2,636
we'll get you started with the mouse effects.

Yep you will want to use css.

here is what you need. specifically the hover one. When you hover over a link, you can define what colors you want to display.

PHP:
<style type="text/css">
:hover {color: #ff0000; background-color:transparent }
:link { color: #ff0000; background-color:transparent}
:visited { color: #ff0000; background-color:transparent }
:active {color: #ff0000; background-color:transparent }
</style>
That will apply to all links on the page unless they are overridden.

Just change the color and background color to what you want. Link defines the color of an unvisited link. Visited is obvious. Active is when you actually click on the link. Hover is when you hover over the link.

now if you need to define a second set of link attributes you would add the following to the above

PHP:
a.c2:hover {color: #ff0000; background-color:transparent }
a.c2:link { color: #ff0000; background-color:transparent}
a.c2:visited { color: #ff0000; background-color:transparent }
a.c2:active {color: #ff0000; background-color:transparent }
then if you have a link that you want to use the second set of colors, you do it like this

PHP:
<a href="http://www.google.com" class="c2">Google</a>
you can view source of my page http://home.tbbs.net/shadow/mod.htm for an example
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Messages
2,636
now to add a right panel, you want to stick with tables.

basically what you need to do is add a cell, change the colspans to span across the new cell. and widen the table to accomodate the new cell.

this will get you started

PHP:
<td>test</td>
now here is where I added that.

PHP:
<P CLASS=left>

</TD><td>test</td>


<TR>
<TD bgcolor="#003366" COLSPAN="2">
<!-- begin footer -->
I added it right after the td close tag.
which is the tag that is closing the middle section. so you have to view your code and scroll down to just above where you put the footer in. Just remember, you will have to resize the tables and change the colspans to 3.

Just keep in mind, you will either have to shrink the size of the middle section or extend the table width off the page. (the page will then scroll left to right. Plus you will have to set the width of the new cell.

but now that you know where to put it, all you have to do is tweak the settings.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Messages
2,636
attached is a text file with the changes I made to get it like it is at

http://home.tbbs.net/shadow/tsgforums/blog/blog.htm


attributes that I changed are encased in exclamation points.

e.g.

!!!!!attribute!!!!!

then you can use that info to tweak it.

keep in mind, I use 1024 x 768 screen resolution. (it all fits on the screen for me, but not sure if it will at other resolutions, but that's why I changed the width sizes to percentages.

ps. it looks pretty good maximized, but minimized the new column is not sized right.

Tweak away. Good luck
 

Attachments

Nando

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
245
I want a 90% main table.

And maybe a 50% middle table and 20% each side tables. Do you understand what I mean?
 

Nando

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
245
Originally posted by Nando:
I want a 90% main table.

And maybe a 50% middle table and 20% each side tables. Do you understand what I mean?
ok, forget about it. I've solved it. Thanks anyway.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Messages
2,636
take a look at this http://home.tbbs.net/shadow/tsgforums/blog/blog2.htm

you forgot to change the colspans to 3. That's why the blue parts didn't go over all the way.

Now you said that you wanted a 90% table.

with a 20% 50% 20% cells.

in the above link I set it to 20% 60% 20%. which equals 100%.

when you set the table to a width percentage, that width is the percentage of the screen. now when you set the width of a cell, that's the percentage of the table.

so you want the table to fill the screen 90%. Then you want the 3 cells to split 100% of the table. 20 + 60 + 20 = 100.

so your 3 cells should take up 100% of 90% of the screen. (not forgetting about cellpadding, borders and spacing of course)

I know that sounds weird, but just making a point that you can have the middle be 60 instead of 50 and still have the sides be 20.

now in this new link it is set up right for maximized, but it's not right when minimized because of the use of a percentage instead of a fixed width.

yet.


one thing. like I said before, as long as the window is maximize, it should look great in all browsers, but when minimized the widths go all funky. The page needs a fixed width and really needs to be built from scratch.

Sometimes it's easier to knock down a building and build a new one than repair an existing one.

but you should do fine, for now.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2001
Messages
2,636
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top