1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

http 404 not found

Discussion in 'Networking' started by terrace, Jun 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. terrace

    terrace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    Have got this message when connecting to Internet. Isp said to as follows:- Click start >run type cmd and press enter-type netsh int ip resetip and press enter-type netsh winsock reset and press enter- type exit and press enter-shutdown and restart pc. When typing each "netsh" i got the message "not recognized as internal or external command". Does anyone know what this means? Cheers:)
     
  2. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    Try it John's way:

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.

    {credit johnw}
     
  3. terrace

    terrace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    Thanks a lot for your suggestion. Is that the same as my ISP said or have you got extra in there? Cheers
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    What is the version and patch level of the system? Those commands are only for XP-SP2, if you don't have SP2, or have some other version of Windows, there are different techniques. How about some info about your environment?

    Please supply the following info.

    Make/model of the broadband modem.
    Make/model of the router (if any).
    Connection type, wired, wireless.
    Make/model of network card or wireless adapter.
    Make/model of your computer.
    Version and patch level of Windows, i.e. XP-Home SP2.
     
  5. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    Yes, they are a little different
     
  6. terrace

    terrace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    info requested as follows:
    Make Model broadband modem/adsl router
    D_LINK 502t
    Connection type-adsl broadband 256kbps/64
    kbps
    Make/Model of network card-RAS ASYNC
    Adapter last reset 3/06/2007
    Make/Model of computer-no brand
    Version and patch level of Windows-XP HOME
    2002 version 5.1 XP service pack 2(y)
     
  7. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    Try the reset again, and type the commands EXACTLY as they appear here, including spaces or lack of spaces. Both of these commands should be recognized by XP-SP2. If either command gives an error, I'd like to see a screen shot of the command as typed, and the error you get.

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2.

    For these commands, Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt.

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults: netsh winsock reset catalog

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults. netsh int ip reset reset.log

    Reboot the machine.
     
  8. terrace

    terrace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    Have done that. Wait and see how it goes. Thanks
     
  9. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    You don't have to wait that long. It that is the cause of the problem, after running the command, it should take care of it right away.
     
  10. terrace

    terrace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    I haven`t seen the message in the last couple of hours. How do i know if it`s effective permanently? Cheers(y)
     
  11. invalidusername

    invalidusername

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    639
    Well if you did not get any message in two hours, looks like it worked. Unless you were getting the message once in a while before, which will put us back to post number 8. (wait and see).
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,409
    The real question is, is it working any differently?
     
  13. terrace

    terrace Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    499
    http 404 not found-haven`t seen it today. also i`m having trouble with a message "Internet Explorer cannot display this page". If you wish you can see it in my other thread of that title. Cheers
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/579893