1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

HTTP getting changed to HTTPS! (Moved from Windows 7 forum)

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by donetao, May 26, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. donetao

    donetao Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    Hi ! Please move to appropriate section if needed. Here's the problem I'm having and have tried to report to TSG before. I have my options on TSG set to send me a email when a thread I have subscribed to has a new reply.
    I get the email fine, but when I click on the HTTP to take me to the site I believe its being changed by Firefox to HTTPS and it won't take me to the sight. I have attached a PSR to show what happens.
    This is very annoying and I was always able to click the link and it would open the thread on the forum until the last Firefox update. I have read that this is some thing new and is for my protection, but I don't think I need protection from the forum.:mad: I have researched this a little and see it's a down load, but I haven't down loaded it. Need your help!
    https://www.eff.org/https-everywhere
    Thank you!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. donetao

    donetao Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    Hi! Up date! I have just discovered that IE doesn't do this, but I want to use firefox!!
    IE is not mentioned in the link I attached in post #1
    If I'm seeing this right IE is not into this HTTPS thingy!
     
    Last edited: May 26, 2015
  3. donetao

    donetao Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    Hi Another up date! If I copy and paste the HTTP link and then paste it into Firefox, Firefox will take me to the thread on our forum. If I just click on the HTTP in Gmail, it won't???
    I repeat I do not have this ad-on installed! I don't know what's converting it to HPPTS??
    It has to be Gmail or Firefox!
    Thanks! Trying to solve this myself, but I sure could use some help!
     
  4. donetao

    donetao Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
  5. DSTM

    DSTM

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    No problems here with Firefox and Gmail so I have nothibg to fix.
     
  6. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,113
    First Name:
    Liz
    I sent an email to my husband's gmail with these two links in the body of the email
    Code:
    http://forums.techguy.org/
    Code:
    http://forums.techguy.org/web-email/1148863-http-getting-changed-https-moved.html
    Neither link changed into https on gmail's end when they were clicked. I use PaleMoon and v31 ESR of FF so i do not run the latest version of FF. The article you linked to applies to sending or receiving email. You are only clicking on links received in an email - you are not sending nor receiving so that article has nothing to do in your situation.
     
  7. donetao

    donetao Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    Thanks Liz and DSTM. I think I have a problem with Gmail???
    Thanks for your replies!!
     
  8. donetao

    donetao Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    Hi fellow TSG members. I need some advise. Not knowing what else to do, I restored my PC to 05-01-2015.
    Every thing is working great again. I click on the Gmail email HTTP and it opens to the thread here on our forum. Just like it always done in the past
    What's different?? The only thing I can think of is windows or some other updates. I really need some help on this one and I'll take any and all suggestions. This is really driving me crazy! All is working for now, but when will it screw up again??
    Thanks!
    Gary
     
  9. DSTM

    DSTM

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    I suggest you mark this thread as solved and get on with life. That's what restore points are for. I also clone all my OS's weekly.
    It could have been one of a zillion things that has caused this.

    You can't expect Techies to spend many hrs just to satisfy your curiosity.

    If it happens again just post and someone will investigate further for you.
    I would also manually set restore points at least weekly so you don't have to go so far back and lose so much.
     
  10. donetao

    donetao Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    This was not a restore point . It was a restore with a Macrium Reflect back image that I created on
    05-01-2015 Restoring to a earlier time did not solve the problem. There is a big difference in restore points and back up images created by 3rd party software!!
    Thanks for your reply!!
     
  11. DSTM

    DSTM

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    You said " I restored my PC to 05-01-2015." That can also mean you could have used system restore. You didn't bother to mention how you restored your OS in #8
    Had you done so would have made it clearer.
    We are not mind readers, Gary.
     
  12. donetao

    donetao Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    Hi Update if anyone is interested. I just reinstalled 15 Windows updates. Sense I restored to 05-01-2015 with Macrium they needed to be installed again. So far my problem hasn't reappeared, so will continue on my search of what started this problem. Firefox wants to update, but I'm not going there yet.
    Thanks everyone for your replies.
     
  13. DSTM

    DSTM

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    50
    I am still on Firefox 37.0.2 and won't let it update. This version works fine for me.
    You can stop Firefox from updating in FF settings.
     
  14. donetao

    donetao Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    I have updated all my security software and ran scans. No problems found. All windows updates have been installed. Every thing is working and I'm a happy camper. I guess Firefox would be next, but not at this moment as I'm just about putter out for tonight. My FF says it's version 38.0.1
    Thanks for all the replies! I might just stop FF from updating!!:D
    I turned that sucker off.:D
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 27, 2015
  15. donetao

    donetao Banned Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    688
    I'm starting to realize that no one is interested in my problem. That's ok. This HTTPS has cost me 2 warning's and 4 points and I'm going to figure this out. I'm thinking that my Gmail might have been compromised or what ever that big word is and so I changed my password just to be on the safe side.
    As my friend Macbootmaster says; "I'll see you tomorrow!"
    If you all have any suggestions; lay them on me, because I sure don't know what caused this problem.
    Good night all!
    It's all good right now and I'm a happy camper!!
    Love Macrium! Hate Computers!!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1148863

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice