Huawei HG659 modem HELP!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

raneym

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
5
I was with an internet provided (dodo) last week I was unhappy with and disconnected my service. I connected yesterday with another (Fliptv) but cant get my connection to work.

I have put in my username and password and despite the necessary lights on the modem working I still cant connect.
I called my provider and they said the HG659 Huawei modem isnt compatible with their service and I need to have VLAN settings but I have no idea what that means. Im wondering if they just cant be bothered and trying to get me to buy their modem for $120.

Can anyone please help. Not sure if it makes any difference I am in Australia.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
If they say the modem is not compatible then there's probably little you can do. Some services require specific modems with specific features to work.

You could sell your existing modem to make up some of the cost of the new modem.
 

raneym

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
5
Ive searched online and everything Ive found says it has the same settings as my previous provider. Seems like they just want me to buy their modem for $110. Only reason they could give me was I needed to disabled VLAN settings or something (n)


Flip TV
Protocol: PPPoE (DHCP)
VLAN ID: None/blank
Login: [email protected] and password (same credentials you entered on the online signup form)
(The above details are unofficial and may need further verification)
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Having a VLAN configured for the WAN is not a default setting. Have you tried factory resetting the modem?

What type of internet service did you sign up for? DSL/aDSL vDSL, FTTN(Fiber to the node), Fiber, etc?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
This NBN modem guide suggests the HG659 may be locked to the original provider: https://www.finder.com.au/fttn-nbn-router-comparison

Honestly reading through a few forums and articles you are better off buying the recommended and approved modem that the ISP is recommending. Sell your old modem to a customer of Dodo.
 

raneym

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
5
Having a VLAN configured for the WAN is not a default setting. Have you tried factory resetting the modem?

What type of internet service did you sign up for? DSL/aDSL vDSL, FTTN(Fiber to the node), Fiber, etc?
yes I have tried factory reset. Its FTTN.

WOuldnt FTTN modem settings be the same just provider settings different?


this is their modem

  • Plug-In and Go (Pre-configured)
  • All-in-one Device: 3 Year Warranty + Technical Support
  • Advanced Features Available: Caller-ID, Call-Waiting, Call-Holding, Call-Forwarding, 3-Way Conference Calls, USB, Voicemail
  • NBN Compatible (FTTN,FTTP,HFC,FIXED WIRELESS)
  • 2 VoIP ports
  • 6000V Lightning Protection


    Mine.
  • - WiFi 802.11b/g/n @ 2.4Ghz wireless networking, WiFi speeds up to 300Mbps
    - WiFi 802.11ac @ 5Ghz wireless networking, WiFi speeds up to 1.3Gbps
    - 1 x ADSL/VDSL Port
    - 1 x Gigabit Ethernet WAN Port for connecting to Fibre
    - 4 x Gigabit Ethernet LAN Ports
    - 2 x USB2 Ports, supporting external hard drives or a printer or 3G USB dongle
    - DLNA certified for simple home networking
    - Guest WiFi so you can let and control others using your WiFi
    - Robust security and firewall for your protection
    - WPS for easily connecting devices to your WiFi network
    - Parental controls via filtering
    - 400MHz dual core- processor
    - Chipset BCM63168
    - 128MB RAM onboard memory, 128MB flash memory
    - 12-Month Replacement Warranty
    - No 3G Failover

Am I missing something thats different?

Sorry for being a pain
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Not necessarily, if you look up FTTN and NBN you'll see that people have trouble with modems that are not approved or tested for a particular ISP. Just having a different chipset or firmware is going to affect the ability of the modem to connect or provide a stable connection. Some ISP's don';t even give an option of your your modem for FTTN, Fiber, or VDSL because their networks are setup optimally for only one set of modems.

This would seem like a good article to read: https://www.finder.com.au/fttn-nbn-router-comparison

Also an ISP doesn't want to provide support for each and very modem ever made, the training and testing costs would be astronomical, its just not feasible to support more than a few modems from a tech support perspective.
 

raneym

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
5
Oppps sorry missed half the specs for the other modem the company are trying to sell..

HV100-03
  • Compliance DOCSIS & Euro DOCSIS3.0/EPC & PC
    1.5(Backward Compatible 2.0 & 1.1)
  • Channel Bonding : D/S Up to 8, U/S Up to 4
  • Wi-Fi : 802.11n/ac Dual band & Concurrent
    2.4G/5Ghz MIMO 3T3R (Option: 11n 2T2R or 3T3R)
  • Antenna : Option Intenna or External Antenna
  • One F-Connector for DOCSIS
  • Giga-bit Ethernet(RJ45) Port: 4ea (Option: 2ea)
  • FXS(RJ11) Voice port : 2ea (Option)
  • USB port : 1ea (Option)
Key Features
  • Community Wi-Fi and SoftGRE
  • nPnP
  • SNMP and TR-069
  • IPv4 and IPv6 is ready
  • WMM and Multiple SSID
  • WPS and WDS
  • DLNA/NAS/HotSpot2.0
  • Firewall and Parental Controls


    Mine is a HG659 Huawei
 

raneym

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
5
Thanks for your help. I think I will just go get a modem tomorrow and ask a heap of questions.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top