Hub help

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Toyman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 24, 2001
Messages
225
I have two pc's that I would like to network together and i recently bought a hub. The hub did not come with any instructions and I have no idea how to get into the other pc once I have them hooked up. I have a SOHO 5 port 10mbps ethernet hub and would like to hook my cable in to it and then link the two pc's togther from there. I didn't think it would be that complicated but it is.

Should I be able to map them together like youm would map a network drive?


I have Win ME on both machines.

Any help would be appreciated.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Go to Start > Settings > Control Panel.
Double click Network and see if you have Netbeui on both machines.
If you do, click the Identification tab and make sure they are both
in the same workgroup.
If you don't have Netbeui, Click Add, Protocol, Microsoft and Netbeui.
Click ok and then reboot.

If the Workgroups are identical and they have Netbeui you can
open Windows Explorer or My network places and they should see each other.
 

Toyman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 24, 2001
Messages
225
Thanks Del, that did it. I appreciate your help.

Now I have a new question. For some reason my password won't work to access my documents......... i thoguht i was very careful in typing it but apparently not. Id there a way to change it on the other pc without knowing it?


Thanks again for your help.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Your on machine 1 trying to read a message on machine 2?
 

Toyman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 24, 2001
Messages
225
Yes, when I click on my documents on machine 2 and it asks for the password it tells me it is the wrong one.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
If that is what you are talking about, go to machine 2, double click My Computer, right click on the drive you have your documents on, click sharing and make sure you don't have a read only password, if you do, delete it.
 

Toyman

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 24, 2001
Messages
225
Thanks again Del, that did it.

I'm pretty new to home networking........and you have gotten me off to a good start..........your help is much appreciated.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Hey, anytime Toyman.
Come back and give us a hand sometimes.
Have a great night.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top