1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Huge uploads eats my bandwith

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by henlo, Sep 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. henlo

    henlo Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1
    Hi there,

    I have a ADSL connection with a 3GB limit per month.

    I do not run any P2P or similar software.

    For some or other reason I have huge uploads on a dialy basis which accumulates to my bandwith limit.

    I have no idea which program does these huge uploads, any suggestions will be much appreciated.

    Thanks,
    Henlo Conradie

    Here is my Hijackthis log

    Logfile of HijackThis v1.97.2
    Scan saved at 07:51:32, on 2003/09/17
    Platform: Windows 2000 SP2 (WinNT 5.00.2195)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v5.00 SP2 (5.00.2920.0000)

    Running processes:
    E:\WINNT\System32\smss.exe
    E:\WINNT\system32\winlogon.exe
    E:\WINNT\system32\services.exe
    E:\WINNT\system32\lsass.exe
    E:\WINNT\system32\svchost.exe
    E:\WINNT\System32\svchost.exe
    E:\WINNT\system32\spoolsv.exe
    E:\WINNT\System32\cisvc.exe
    E:\PROGRA~1\TELKOM~2\TELKOM~1\app\pppoeservice.exe
    E:\WINNT\system32\regsvc.exe
    E:\WINNT\System32\wins\DLLHOST.EXE
    E:\WINNT\system32\MSTask.exe
    E:\WINNT\System32\tcpsvcs.exe
    E:\WINNT\System32\snmp.exe
    E:\WINNT\System32\WBEM\WinMgmt.exe
    E:\WINNT\Explorer.EXE
    C:\BITWARE\NT\bwprnmon.exe
    E:\WINNT\System32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe
    E:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\XCPCSync\TRANSL~1\ErPhn2\ErTray.exe
    E:\WINNT\system32\ntvdm.exe
    E:\WINNT\System32\rundll32.exe
    E:\WINNT\System32\internat.exe
    C:\lotus\wordpro\ltsstart.exe
    C:\lotus\smartctr\smartctr.exe
    C:\lotus\smartctr\suitest.exe
    E:\AnalogX\MaxMem\maxmem.exe
    E:\WINNT\temp\u3spwd.exe
    E:\WINNT\System32\cidaemon.exe
    E:\PROGRA~1\TELKOM~2\TELKOM~1\app\EnterNet.exe
    E:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\ymsgr_tray.exe
    E:\WINNT\System32\wins\svchost.exe
    E:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE
    C:\unzipped\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer,SearchURL = http://www.martfinder.com/dpindex.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://www.yahoo.com/search/ie.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://www.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://users.lantic.net/jazel/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://www.martfinder.com/dpindex.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://www.martfinder.com/dpindex.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch = http://www.martfinder.com/dpindex.html
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/stp/ymsgr*http://my.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Bar = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/cus.../*http://www.yahoo.com/ext/search/search.html
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/sp/ymsgr/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/stp/ymsgr*http://my.yahoo.com
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://red.clientapps.yahoo.com/customize/ie/defaults/su/ymsgr/*http://www.yahoo.com
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch = http://www.martfinder.com/dpindex.html
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://www.martfinder.com/dpindex.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\SearchURL,(Default) = http://search.yahoo.com/search?p=%s
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {02478D38-C3F9-4efb-9B51-7695ECA05670} - E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\ycomp5_1_6_0.dll
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: @msdxmLC.dll,[email protected],&Radio - {8E718888-423F-11D2-876E-00A0C9082467} - E:\WINNT\System32\msdxm.ocx
    O3 - Toolbar: &Yahoo! Companion - {EF99BD32-C1FB-11D2-892F-0090271D4F88} - E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common\ycomp5_1_6_0.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Synchronization Manager] mobsync.exe /logon
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [internat.exe] internat.exe
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Yahoo! Pager] E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Messenger\ypager.exe -quiet
    O4 - Startup: Lotus QuickStart.lnk = C:\lotus\wordpro\ltsstart.exe
    O4 - Startup: Lotus SmartCenter 97.lnk = C:\lotus\smartctr\smartctr.exe
    O4 - Startup: Lotus SuiteStart 97.lnk = C:\lotus\smartctr\suitest.exe
    O4 - Startup: maxmem.exe.lnk = E:\AnalogX\MaxMem\maxmem.exe
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! Dictionary - file:///E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycdict.htm
    O8 - Extra context menu item: Yahoo! Search - file:///E:\Program Files\Yahoo!\Common/ycsrch.htm
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Yahoo! Messenger (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra button: Related (HKLM)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Show &Related Links (HKLM)
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: E:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {30528230-99F7-4BB4-88D8-FA1D4F56A2AB} (YInstStarter Class) - http://download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yinst.cab
    O16 - DPF: {A17E30C4-A9BA-11D4-8673-60DB54C10000} (YahooYMailTo Class) - http://us.dl1.yimg.com/download.yahoo.com/dl/installs/yse/ymmapi_416.dll
    O16 - DPF: {D27CDB6E-AE6D-11CF-96B8-444553540000} (Shockwave Flash Object) - http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{EF550FEF-C732-41CF-8CF5-A1E35DBBD6F4}: NameServer = 111.112.113.114,211.212.213.214
     
  2. putasolution

    putasolution

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    4,823
    Welcome to TSG, Henlo

    Restart Hijack This and put a check mark against the following:

    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer,SearchURL = http://www.martfinder.com/dpindex.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://www.martfinder.com/dpindex.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://www.martfinder.com/dpindex.html
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch = http://www.martfinder.com/dpindex.html
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch = http://www.martfinder.com/dpindex.html
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant = http://www.martfinder.com/dpindex.html
    O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{EF550FEF-C732-41CF-8CF5-A1E35DBBD6F4}: NameServer = 111.112.113.114,211.212.213.214

    Click Fix Checked

    Two things I noticed, unless I have missed something and that is that you have no antivirus or firewall running. Do yourself a BIG favor and install an antivirus program and a firewall



    AVG is a Free antivirus program, Links to free firewalls can be found here

    I would also suggest that you do a windows update to AT LEAST Win 2000 SP3 and install the various critical updates available at Windows update

    These are just suggestions
     
  3. Holly3278

    Holly3278

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,397
    Oooh, Putasolution is so right on when he says to install a firewall and an antivirus. You are literally asking for trouble on your computer without both of those. I would suggest Norton Antivirus if you can afford it. Of course, if you would like to get an antivirus program and a firewall in one package, get Norton Internet Security 2003. I run Norton Internet Security 2003 Pro. I like it because it blocks ads. However, ZoneAlarm Pro also blocks ads. ZoneAlarm also offers a free firewall but it has less features. However, it will do the job in protecting your computer. I have tried AVG Antivirus before and it does do the job well.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Huge uploads eats
  1. Jack1000
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    254
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/165362

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice