1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Hyperterminal Problem in XP

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by kcgmit83, Feb 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kcgmit83

    kcgmit83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    When I click on Start > All Programs > Accessories > Communications in Windows XP, I cannot see Hyperterminal.
    I did search for the hypertrm.exe executable and there is no sign of that running either. :confused:

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Wanderer2

    Wanderer2

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    Perhaps it needed to be installed. Usually you go to add/remove programs/windows componets and add it.
     
  3. kcgmit83

    kcgmit83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Yeah thats sorted it.
    Hyperterminal is running now!! (y)
    Thanks very much for that Wanderer! Much appreciated!
     
  4. mcslimg

    mcslimg

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    i know your problem is fixed but anyway you could give me a brief explanation of what hyper terminal does/is/can be used for?
     
  5. kcgmit83

    kcgmit83 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    When you open Hyperterminal users will see a window asking you for "Location Information". This will include information such as your country, area code, the way you would like to connect (modem/TCP), etc. Click OK then.
    A window with "New Connection" opens up, allowing you to choose a name and an icon for your HyperTerminal session. After this information has been filled out, use the "telephone" icons on the HyperTerminal toolbar to connect or disconnect a call to another computer.
    Other than connecting to other computers, HyperTerminal can also be used to monitor the status of your modem. The details of any connection made using HyperTerminal are recorded in a log file. This file can be one way to troubleshoot modem issues.
    Hopefully thats helped you out on its uses.
     
  6. mcslimg

    mcslimg

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    153
    yah. sounds brilliant. in all my years of windows i have yet to even open that program :) thanks.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/683501

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice