1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I am a long time windows user... convince me!!!

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by Sphinx, Mar 31, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Sphinx

Sphinx Thread Starter

I agree windows has many faults. But I do think Windows XP Professional is a great OS. I have it tweaked to the settings I want and it is very fast.

I do want to try Linux. I have seen some friends using Ubuntu, and I thought I'd give linux shot.

I've been looking at few different things, and was hoping someone could explain the differences...

FreeBSD, DesktopBSD, Ubuntu, Ubuntu Desktop.

I am a fast learner, but still , I don't want to dive into something I have no experience in.

I want a FAST, RELIABLE desktop computer, used mostly for web browsing / multimedia purposes. I realize linux isn't the good choice for games - that is why I will keep my windows computer.

I've been trying to decide between DesktopBSD and Ubuntu Desktop -

can someone help me with this.

Also is "ubuntu" the same as "ubuntu desktop" or are they separate entities?

Thanks

2. leroys1000

leroys1000 Banned

Ubuntu has a server and desktop edition.
    You can download and burn ubuntu desktop to a CD and boot
    to it and run it from the CD to see if you like it,without installing.
    BSD is a different unix variation I don't have any experience with.
    There are also different linux editions available on live CD.
    http://www.livecdlist.com/

3. Sphinx

Sphinx Thread Starter

Out of the many linux versions , why is ubuntu so popular?

I will try out ubunto desktop, but I am also curious about DesktopBSD.

Again, I want SPEED and RELIABILITY.

Gaming is not issue, I will use windows xp for that.