1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I am CONVINCED this is a network not printer issue!

Discussion in 'Networking' started by mjjmike, Mar 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mjjmike

mjjmike Thread Starter

Hi greetings to everyone.

Wanted to run this by all of you. I am a desktop tech at a company and we are having this printer issue. Well I say printer issue, they are saying it's a printer issue that I believe to be more of a network issue. the story goes like this...

They put it a new print server called bartender to run these label/tag printers that we have roughly 75-85 of at three different locations. The week of the change we started having these issues. The user could put in for a tag or label to be printed from the application they use, and they would get no jobs, no tags/labels, nothing. On the server side of things, the job on that printer would show errored out and the printer would appear as if it were offline. But at the same time it would be pingable. You could ping through the entire process. Funny thing is, is you could recycle the power on the printer and it would release the jobs and clear the queue right up. Now like I said we have between 75-85 of these printers, some of these get used more than others, some of these , this issue is occurring more on than the others. But keep in mind that they are spread out throughout three different locations, states and cities. Now some of these printers that the issue is occurring on is really bad. like at some locations, there may be a couple of printers that we may refer to as the "problem printers" because they seem to have this issue way more often than any of the rest of them.